Gender and Sexuality Studies

Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.

Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Good for: Searching scholarship about the history of the United States and Canada.

Contains: Citations to journal articles and books by historians and social scientists.

Dates covered: 1955 - current.

Good for: Understanding the Civil War through personal accounts.

Contains: Previously published memoirs, letters, and diaries.

Dates covered: 1860-1865.

Good for: Identifying how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to discover the most influential scholarship on a topic.

Contains: Bibliographic information and cited references.

Dates covered: 1975-one week ago.

Good for: Finding out where reviews of a book were published.

Contains: Book abstracts and excerpts and citations of book reviews.

Dates covered: 1983-present.

Good for: Researching the lives of women in Great Britain and Ireland.

Contains: Women's letters and diaries.

Dates covered: 1500-1900.

Good for: Reading newspaper reports of major events of the U.S. Civil War. 

Contains: Clippings from Union and Confederate sources. 

Dates covered: 1860-1865.

Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.

Contains: Journal articles. 

Dates covered: 1900-current date

Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information. 

Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. 

Dates covered: 1789-present.

Good for: Academic books in all subject areas. 

Contains: eBooks, reports, and other resources

Good for: eBooks on a wide range of subjects 

Contains: Books and reports

Good for: Searching newspapers from ethnic, minority, and native communities in the United States.

Contains: Newspaper articles, editorials, and reviews.

Dates covered: 1959-present.

Good for: Researching family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. 

Contains: Journal articles. 

Dates covered: 1970-present.

Good for: Researching gender issues.

Contains: Publications, reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings.

Dates covered: 1974-present.

Good for: Reading primary sources that document the evolution of feminist consciousness and the women's rights movement.

Contains: Books and periodicals.

Dates covered: 1543-1945.

Good for: Reading firsthand accounts of 19th-century American society, history and culture.

Contains: PDF images and scanned text of articles from the popular magazine.

Dates covered: 1830-1898.

Good for: Finding peer-reviewed articles and book reviews about world history (excluding the United States and Canada). 

Contains: Citations to journal articles and book reviews. 

Dates covered: 1954-present.

Good for: Finding data on population, work and welfare, and international relations in the United States.

Contains: Statistical tables and historical analysis.

Dates covered: 1775-2000.

Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics. 

Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

Good for: Reading memoirs, letters, and essays by Latin American women.

Contains: Written works by Latin American women.

Dates covered: 1600-present.

Good for: Researching lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender communities. 

Contains: Index to literature, plus journals, magazines, regional newspapers, and monographs/books.

Good for: Exploring personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. or Canada.

Contains: Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories.

Dates covered: 1840-present.

Good for: Finding plays written by women in the United States and Canada.

Contains: Plays.

Dates covered: 1770-present.

Good for: Exploring the lives and experiences of North American women. 

Contains: Diaries, journals, and letters. 

Dates covered: 1770-1950.

Good for: Researching political science. 

Contains: Journals.

Good for: Researching humanities and social sciences topics.

Contains: Scholarly journals and e-books.

Dates covered: 1995-present.

Good for: Accessing bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references in social sciences journals. 

Contains: Bibliographic information, abstracts, and cited references.

Good for: Finding citations and abstracts of sociological research. 

Contains: Citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers. 

Dates covered: 1963-present.

Good for: Researching contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport, and the sociology of work. 

Contains: Journals. 

Dates covered: 1987-present.

Good for: Finding government publications. 

Contains: Information on how to find government resources.

Good for: Discovering and locating journals at UNLV Libraries.

Contains: Availability of online and print journal holdings.

Good for: Scholarship on gender studies and feminist research. 

Contains:  Articles published in academic journals from around the world.

Dates covered: 1972-present. 

Good for: Searching library holdings worldwide.

Contains: Catalog of library holdings.

Dates covered: 11th century-present.