Music

Good for: Authoritative encyclopedia entries about music and musicians. Entries are extensive and contain work lists, bibliographies, terminology, and other facets of music research. 

Contains: Essays and bibliographies

Good for: Studying blues, jazz, spirituals, and other forms connected with Black American musical expression.

Contains: Encyclopedia entries, liner notes and album art.

Good for: Finding academic studies about rock and roll and other popular music around the world, plus interdisciplinary studies of the theory, methodology, and practice of sound.

Contains: Encyclopedia entries, essays, and books.

Good for: Encyclopedia entries about classical music history and musicians. 

Contains: Essential music reference works including Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Music and Musicians.

Good for: Studying global music traditions using a variety of disciplinary approaches.

Contains: Audio field recordings, interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera.

Good for: Creating reading lists or consulting overviews of topics to identify significant scholarship.

Contains: Annotated bibliographies focused on areas of study within a discipline.

Good for: Exploring the world's musical and aural traditions.

Contains: Audio recordings, liner notes.

Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics. 

Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections

Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.

Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Good for: Researching humanities and social sciences topics.

Contains: Scholarly journals and e-books.

Dates covered: 1995-present.

Good for: Identifying how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to discover the most influential scholarship on a topic.

Contains: Bibliographic information and cited references.

Dates covered: 1975-one week ago.

Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects. 

Contains: Articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions

Good for: Finding newspaper articles from around the world, including Nevada.

Contains: Newspaper articles from global news outlets, both print and web-only.

Good for: Finding regional news articles and broadcast television transcripts. 

Contains: Regional newspapers and transcripts.

Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information. 

Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.

Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.

Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.

Dates covered: 1980s-present.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1849-2015.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.

Contains: Newspaper articles.

Dates covered: 1881-2016.

Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.

Contains: Newspaper pages.

Dates covered: 1851-2021.

Good for: Finding articles from The Times (London). 

Contains: The Times newspaper. 

Dates covered: 1785-2019.

Good for: Listening to recordings of classical music.

Contains: Streaming audio of classical music.

Good for: Listening to classical music performances.

Contains: Streaming classical music videos and live broadcasts.

Good for: Watching recent Broadway theatrical productions.

Contains: Streaming video

Good for: Gaining a deeper understanding and appreciation of musical theater.

Contains: Video of musicals, plays, contemporary dance performances, behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses.

Good for: Videos of performances and experts in classical music from medieval to the 21st century. 

Contains: Video performances and documentaries.

Good for: Studying the history and forms of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.

Contains: Streaming video of performances, masterclasses, documentaries and interviews.

Good for: Viewing performances of classical music, opera, and dance.

Contains: Performances, operas, dance titles, masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews.

Good for: Listening to live performances in genres including funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and world music. 

Contains: Live performances archived on video.

Good for: Viewing opera performances.

Contains: Staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Good for: Accessing classical music scores and manuscripts, including full scores, study scores, vocal scores, and piano reductions.

Contains: Repertoire across all genres from Palestrina to Bach, Beethoven to Stravinsky, and 17th century French opera.

Good for: Accessing critical performing editions of music, including detailed textual and performance histories.

Contains: Music scores, scholarly apparatus and analysis.

Good for: Documenting extant musical sources worldwide. 

Contains: Records of manuscripts, printed music editions, writings on music theory, and libretti.

Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries. 

Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.

Dates covered: 1880-2015.

Good for: Studying global music traditions using a variety of disciplinary approaches.

Contains: Audio field recordings, interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, and ephemera.

Good for: Finding primary sources related to entertainment in the Victorian era in Great Britain, including music, theatre, and popular literature.

Contains: Books, popular magazines, play scripts, playbills, scores.

Dates covered: 1800-1900.

Good for: Studying popular culture in the US and Britain through music and alternative publications. 

Contains: Primary sources. 

Dates covered: 1950-1975.

Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe. 

Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys. 

Dates covered: 1779-1930.