LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Finding Articles & Databases

Criminal Justice Databases

These databases contain journal articles and other research materials on criminal justice.

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Journal articles in criminology and related disciplines.
Provides comprehensive coverage of the major journals in criminology and related disciplines.
Criminology and Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Journal articles focused on criminal justice, juvenile delinquency and justice, family & domestic violence and more.
This criminology collection includes the full text of 24 journals published by Sage and participating societies. It covers such subjects as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology, and family and domestic violence.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1977-
Access limited to 4 simultaneous users
Journal articles about all areas of social work from professional journals.
Update frequency: semi-annually
From the National Association of Social Workers, this database provides access to professional journal articles about social work from all areas of the profession.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.
Credo General Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries, specialized encyclopedias, quotations, thesauri, and bilingual dictionaries.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital copies of more than 30,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
Books and other materials are arranged in five main subject areas - business and economics, career and general education, computers, engineering and applied sciences, humanities, social/behavioral sciences and life/physical sciences. The ebrary reader is required to view books and can be downloaded for free from ebrary. A free account is needed In order to access some features (i.e. saving notes and highlights).
Emerald Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 200 full text journals consisting of the Emerald Management 175 Collection and the Emerald Engineering Collection .
Subjects covered are management, marketing, human resources, production & economics, operations, library & information services, information management, training & education, and engineering.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1974-
Publications on gender issues. International publications as well as reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings devoted to gender issues.
Update frequency: quarterly
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
NetLibrary This link opens in a new window
Digital copies of more than 3,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
Browse e-books for quick research and reference or create a free account to check out items, create notes, and list favorites.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Politics and International Relations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political science journals published by Sage and participating societies.
It covers such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
RAND Reports This link opens in a new window
Think tank reports and documents on social and political issues.
Searches the RAND archive of over 17,000 titles dating back to 1948. RAND publications deal with such issues as national defense, education and training, health care, criminal and civil justice, labor and population, science and technology, community development, international relations, and regional studies.
Sage eReference Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
40 online encyclopedias in the social sciences, education and history.
An online collection of more than 40 reference titles from Sage Publications. Reference titles cover a variety of subjects including history, sociology, psychology, criminal justice, political science, communications, social work, education and business.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social sciences scholarly journals.
Search or browse the full text of more than 550 journals in various disciplines including Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning published by Sage and participating professional societies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
UNLV Libraries - Gateway to Government Information This link opens in a new window
Information on how to find publications that are produced by government agencies covering a wide variety of topics
Government information resources include Congressional laws and hearings, nutrition, crime, diseases, endangered species, immigration, and much more. The U.S. federal government is also the world's greatest collector and publisher of statistics.
UNLV Libraries Current Journal Holdings This link opens in a new window
Search by journal or magazine title to discover whether UNLV Libraries offers online access or owns a print copy of a particular journal.
A link to "University of Nevada Las Vegas Holdings" will show you information about print copies of the journal. Links to online subscriptions will list the range of dates available for that journal.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.

Other databases

All UNLV Databases

Find Journals by Title

Know the title of the journal you are looking for? Use the UNLV print and online journal subscriptions search to see if the University Libraries has a copy.

Browse online journals in Law & Government.

If you can't find your journal using the UNLV print and online journal subscriptions use the Library Catalog to search for Journals by title.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Databases

Other databases

Find Journals by Title

Locations

Contact