LibGuides: World Languages and Cultures: Finding articles

Find Articles by Searching Databases

A database is an organized collection of information, data, or citations stored in electronic format. You can use the databases below to search for foreign language resources (newspaper, journal, magazine articles). Hover over the database title to see a description of what each database offers. Since each database includes a different set of journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources, searching more than one database can help you to find additional information. If you need more help, Ask A Librarian.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1926-
Literary criticism published in journal articles, book chapters, books and more. Video tutorial for MLAIB
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Choose News, then Foreign Language News to search non-English newspapers
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Gallica
Many freely available books, manuscripts, images and more from the Bibliotheque Nationale and other French cultural heritage institutions. Not every text is available online.

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classic works of French and Italian literature, non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
A&HCI provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Use this tool to identify how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to identify the most influential scholarship on a topic.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.
Article First This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in all subject areas from more than 16,000 journals.
Subject coverage in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture is particularly strong.
Clase/ Periodica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Citations to articles published in Latin American and Caribbean journals.
Update frequency: quarterly
Languages: Spanish, Portuguese, French and English
Articles are from 2,600 scholarly journals published in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Spanish, Portuguese, French and English language journals are included.. CLASE indexes articles in the social sciences and humanities (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades) and PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology (Indice de Revistas Laninoamericanas en Ciencias).
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Indexes academic journals with content about Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Update frequency: monthly
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is the source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital copies of more than 30,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
Books and other materials are arranged in five main subject areas - business and economics, career and general education, computers, engineering and applied sciences, humanities, social/behavioral sciences and life/physical sciences. The ebrary reader is required to view books and can be downloaded for free from ebrary. A free account is needed In order to access some features (i.e. saving notes and highlights).
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1600-
Memoirs, letters, and essays by Latin American women.
Lexicons of Early Modern English This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1480-1702
Explore word histories in this compilation of over 150 dictionaries from the early modern period
Compiles over 150 monolingual, bilingual, and polyglot dictionaries and glossaries from the early modern period in which either source or target language is English, as well as linguistic treatises, and encyclopedic or topical works. A half-million word-entries devised by contemporary speakers of early modern English describe the meaning of words, and their equivalents in languages such as French, Italian, Spanish, Latin, Greek, Hebrew, and other tongues encountered then in Europe, America, and Asia.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1973-
Index of articles in linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Update frequency: monthly
LLBA covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Editorial contact information as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines for 7100 journals in modern languages and literature.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, of which 4,400 are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. Entries include editorial contact information as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. This directory has publication information only - use the MLA International Bibliography to locate journal articles in literature.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1802-1995
Journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published between 1802-1995
Update frequency: quarterly
Search international scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995. PAO includes pre-1995 issues of over 400 journals, including many journals published in languages other than English.
UNLV Libraries Current Journal Holdings This link opens in a new window
Search by journal or magazine title to discover whether UNLV Libraries offers online access or owns a print copy of a particular journal.
A link to "University of Nevada Las Vegas Holdings" will show you information about print copies of the journal. Links to online subscriptions will list the range of dates available for that journal.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?

LingBuzz
Free online database of linguistics citations and preprints

World Languages and Cultures

Find Articles by Searching Databases

Locations

Contact