Skip to Main Content

questions, ask us

World Languages and Cultures

French, German, Spanish, Italian, and more

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library LLB1187

(702) 895-2132

Subjects: English, Film, History, Literature, Philosophy, Theatre, World Languages and Cultures

unlv

UNLV Department of World Languages and Cultures

located in FDH 510
4505 Maryland Parkway
Box 5047
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5047
(702) 895-3431

New resource!

Digitalia Film Library
Good for: Watching feature films and documentaries in various languages.
Contains: Streaming films in Spanish, Portuguese, and 34 other languages with English subtitles.

Each film's license includes public performance rights.

Guides

Language guides

Publishing

Scholarly Communication
Learn about open access, author's rights, copyright and fair use in this guide for the UNLV community.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Editorial contact information as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines for 7100 journals in modern languages and literature.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Good for: Finding information about serials published worldwide.
Contains: Directory of periodicals.

Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed. It covers all subjects and includes information about publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Cabell's Publishing Directories
Good for: Identifying reputable journals for publishing research in business, education, health, mathematics, nursing, and science.
Contains: Information about journal publishing opportunities.

Language Learning Resources

Language Resource Center

Looking for Rosetta Stone, videos or other programs to learn a language? Try the Language Resource Center, FDH 240!

ELC Catalog
List of language learning resources available through the Language Resource Center in FDH 240. Excel spreadsheet.

Helpful Websites: Career

Occupational Outlook for Interpreters and Translators
Career information about translators and interpreters. Includes training requirements and salary information.
American Translators Association
Includes information on careers and certification.
National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators
Career and certification information.
INTERPRETER TRAINING RESOURCES

Last Updated: Jul 10, 2025 1:20 PM
URL: https://guides.library.unlv.edu/foreignlanguages
Print Page

Subjects: World Languages and Cultures

Tags: culture, world_languages

© University of Nevada Las Vegas