LibGuides: SNATS resources for finding composers from underrepresented groups: Library Guides

Music Databases

Oxford Music Online women composers A-Z list
- This link opens in a new window

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 2-3 simultaneous users
The premier resource for music information.
Oxford Music online (formerly Grove Music Online) contains the New Grove Dictionary and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It is acknowledged as the premier authority in English on all aspects of music. Entries are extensive and contain work lists, bibliographies, terminology, and many other facets of music. Entries are updated and date stamped when needed. Oxford Music Online should be the first stop for any research or information seeking in music.

Oxford Bibliographies - Music
Annotated bibliographies surveying scholarship on a topic or musician, including catalogues, books, articles, critical editions and more.

African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of Black American musical expression.
Bloomsbury Music and Sound This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarship about rock and roll and other popular music around the world, plus interdisciplinary studies of the theory, methodology, and practice of sound.
Includes the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, ebooks analyzing significant popular albums in the 33 1/3 series, and books about sound from disciplines like art, aesthetics, architecture, contemporary music, history, philosophy, technology, and cultural studies.
Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Essential music reference works.
This resource contains essential music reference works, including full text of Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Within this resource one can find information on over 11,000 composers, 7,000 performers and ensembles, definitions of musical terms, photographs and images of musicians, instruments, and ensembles.
Ethnomusicology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Produced in collaboration with the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive, the material in this collection includes thousands of audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to ethnic music research of cultures throughout the world.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly topic overviews and annotated bibliographies with expert literature reviews from a wide range of disciplines.
Video tutorial for Oxford Bibliographies
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries provides a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of the Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies. Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. Users may also create, view, and share your own custom playlists in a free account available for registration set up within the database.

Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classical Scores Library, in 4 volumes, contains over 10,000 classical music scores and manuscripts.
The comprehensive resource provides access to full scores, study scores, vocal scores, and piano reductions. Repertoire represented is across all genres from Palestrina to Bach, Beethoven to Stravinsky. It also contains autograph facsimiles of 17th century French opera.
Recent Researches in Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Critical performing editions of music.
The series fall into two basic categories: editions that span the history of Western music, and editions with ties to specific cultural milieus. Most editions in Recent Researches in Music are devoted to works by a single composer or in a single genre.

Series included are:
Recent Researches in the Music of the Middle Ages and Early Renaissance (repertoire spanning the early Middle Ages through about 1500)
Recent Researches in the Music of the Renaissance (1500–1600)
Recent Researches in the Music of the Baroque Era (1600 through the early eighteenth century)
Recent Researches in the Music of the Classical Era (mid-eighteenth through early nineteenth centuries)
Recent Researches in the Music of the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries
Recent Researches in American Music (music of all eras from the United States and the early American colonies)
Recent Researches in the Oral Traditions of Music (musical traditions that are either exclusively oral/aural or that are transmitted only in part through written sources)

IMSLP Petrucci Music Library
A community-built library of public domain sheet music. Extensive collection of original scores scanned to PDF.

RISM - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales This link opens in a new window
The International Inventory of Musical Sources aims to comprehensively document extant musical sources worldwide: manuscripts, printed music editions, writings on music theory, and libretti that are found in libraries, archives, churches, schools, and private collections. RISM records what exists and where it can be found.

Digital Resources for Musicology
DRM provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. Search for "thematic catalog" or expand the "Structured Databases" section for online thematic catalogs.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive classical music library online.
Limited to 10 concurrent usersNML offers access to over 1.6 million tracks from more than 112,000 albums and over 750 labels, with hundreds of new CDs added weekly.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Offers streaming classical music videos that include over 1,600 films as well as many events broadcast live, with replays available for several weeks after the live events.
Content includes music festivals (such as the Verbier, Salzburg, and Lucerne), concerts from baroque through contemporary music (Berlin, New York Philharmonic orchestras, the Concertgebouw, Carnegie Hall recitals, etc.), operas (including Paris and La Scala), ballets, workshops and master classes with renowned artists (from Juilliard, Heidelberg and elsewhere), competitions (the Tchaikovsky from Moscow), documentaries, artist portraits, and archived performances.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides access to almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
BroadwayHD collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of 19 recent Broadway theatrical productions, including Indecent, She Loves Me, Long Day's Journey into Night, Present Laughter, and Buried Child.
UNLV has perpetual access to only the 19 plays (spreadsheet) in this collection. This is not a subscription to the BroadwayHD.com web site, which does not offer academic licenses.
Broadway on Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Along with musicals, plays, and contemporary dance performances, the collection of videos includes unique behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses to help researchers gain a deeper understanding and appreciation of the art of theater.
Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Medieval to the twenty-first century
Classical Music in Video provides coverage in a broad range of music studies from medieval to the 21st Century.
It contains streamed videos of performances, masterclasses and interviews, and documentaries profiling classical artists.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Music Online: Classical Performance in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Classical Performance in Video is a comprehensive video resource for the study of classical music. The database includes 1,600 performances, including 200 full operas and 75 dance titles, as well as masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews.
Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 150 live performances archived on video - funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres.
Opera in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Opera performances on streaming video, including staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Once complete, Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Grove Dictionaries

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 2-3 simultaneous users
The premier resource for music information.
Oxford Music online (formerly Grove Music Online) contains the New Grove Dictionary and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. It is acknowledged as the premier authority in English on all aspects of music. Entries are extensive and contain work lists, bibliographies, terminology, and many other facets of music. Entries are updated and date stamped when needed. Oxford Music Online should be the first stop for any research or information seeking in music.

Indexes of music scholarship

Music Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Index to music journals.
The Music Index covers more than 725 international music periodicals back to 1975. Periodicals indexed covers both classical and popular music subjects. The Music Index is a primary resource for indexing performance, book, and record reviews, as well as obituaries.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1967-
1 simultaneous user
Primary index for journal articles, dissertations, and book chapters in music.
Update frequency: monthly
RILM Abstracts is the primary resource for indexing of music journal articles, dissertations, book chapters, and festschriften. It covers approximately 350 music journals dating back to 1969, and is the only index that covers book chapters and dissertations in music. Materials covered are scholarly in nature, and entries contain detailed abstracts on the article, dissertation, or book cited.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1966-
Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
Update frequency: monthly
Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.

Professional News

Musical America
Industry news, jobs, performance reviews and other up to the minute notes for professional musicians.

20/21st century composers

Asian Composers

Andy Akiho

Kenji Bunch

Paul Chihara

Dai Fujikura

Toshio Hosokowa

Texu Kim

Thomas Oboe Lee

Lei Liang

Narong Prangcharoen

Huang Ruo

Bright Sheng

Zhou Long

Black Composers

Michael Abels

Thomas J. Anderson

Billy Childs

Anthony Davis

Kevin Day

Damien Geter

Jonathan Bailey Holland

Sheku Kanneh-Mason

James Lee III

George Lewis

Wyton Marsalis

Jeffrey Mumford

Brian Raphael Nabors

Shawn Okpebholo

Daniel Bernard Roumain

Carlos Simon

Alvin Singleton

Tyshawn Sorey

Frederick Tillis

Latin-American Composers

Efrain Amaya

Sergio Assad

Marcos Balter

James Diaz

Orlando Jacinto Garcia

Gonzalo Garrido-Lecca

Osvaldo Golijov

Felipe Lara

Gustavo Leone

Jimmy Lopez

Daniel Montoya

Reinaldo Moya

Robert Rodriguez

Carlos Sanchez-Gutierrez

Jose Serebrier

Roberto Sierra

Diego Vega

Andersen Viana

Alejandro Vinao

Women Composers – including Asian, Black and Latin-American composers

Kati Agocs

Eleanor Alberga

Diana Arismendi

Katherine Balch

Sally Beamish

Lauren Bernofsky

Lisa Bielawa

Judith Bingham

Alla Borzova

Margaret Brouwer

Courtney Bryan

Britta Bystrom

Dorothy Chang

Chen Yi

Unsuk Chin

Ann Cleare

Sheree Clement

Anna Clyne

Gloria Goates

Valerie Coleman

Emily Doolittle

Du Wei

Reena Esmail

Elisenda Fabregas

Cheryl Frances-Hoad

Gabriela Lena Frank

Vivian Fung

Stacy Garrop

Sofia Gubaidulina

Jennifer Higdon

Alice Ping Yee Ho

Clara Iannotta

Adina Izarra

Laura Kaminsky

Tania Ko

Barbara Kolb

Mary Kouyoumdjian

Joan La Barbara

Lori Laitman

Ban-Ching Lam

Libby Larsen

Hannah Lash

Anne Lebaron

Hope Lee

Tania Leon

Catherine Likhuta

Liza Lim

Yi-Ning Lo

Allison Loggins-Hull

Alexina Louie

Sky Macklay

Odaline De La Martinez

Missy Mazzoli

Cecilia McDowall

Catherine McMichael

Silvina Milstein

Darleen Cowles Mitchell

Meredeith Monk

Jessie Montgomery

Dorothy Rudd Moore

Florentine Mulsant

Cait Nashimura

Nkeiru Okoye

Vivienne Olive

Younghi Pagh-Paan

Roxanna Panufnik

Alla Pavlova

Rosephanye Powell

Florence Price

Leanna Primiani

Elena Ruehr

Kaija Saariaho

Rhian Samuel

Rebecca Saunders

Laura Schwendinger

Alex Shapiro

Marilyn Shrude

Arlene Sierra

Faye-Ellen Silverman

Gabriela Smith

Sarah Kirkland Snider

Kate Soper

Karen Tanaka

Hilary Tann

Augusta Read Thomas

Anna Thorvaldsdottir

Leslie Uyeda

Nancy Van de Vate

Melinda Wagner

Gwyneth Walker

Errollyn Wallen

Shelley Washington

Julia Wolfe

Luna Pearl Woolf

Rain Worthington

Katherine Young

Nina C. Young

Du Yun

Online projects promoting women, LGBTQ+, and BIPOC composers

Free online databases

SNATS resources for finding composers from underrepresented groups: Library Guides

Music Databases

20/21st century composers

Online projects promoting women, LGBTQ+, and BIPOC composers

Locations

Contact