SNATS resources for finding composers from underrepresented groups: Library Guides

Good for: Accessing classical music scores and manuscripts, including full scores, study scores, vocal scores, and piano reductions.

Contains: Repertoire across all genres from Palestrina to Bach, Beethoven to Stravinsky, and 17th century French opera.

Good for: Accessing critical performing editions of music, including detailed textual and performance histories.

Contains: Music scores, scholarly apparatus and analysis.

Good for: Documenting extant musical sources worldwide. 

Contains: Records of manuscripts, printed music editions, writings on music theory, and libretti.

Good for: Listening to recordings of classical music.

Contains: Streaming audio of classical music.

Good for: Listening to classical music performances.

Contains: Streaming classical music videos and live broadcasts.

Good for: Learning about various subjects through educational videos.

Contains: Documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, and other videos spanning a wide range of subject areas.

Good for: Watching recent Broadway theatrical productions.

Contains: Streaming video

Good for: Gaining a deeper understanding and appreciation of musical theater.

Contains: Video of musicals, plays, contemporary dance performances, behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses.

Good for: Videos of performances and experts in classical music from medieval to the 21st century. 

Contains: Video performances and documentaries.

Good for: Studying the history and forms of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.

Contains: Streaming video of performances, masterclasses, documentaries and interviews.

Good for: Viewing performances of classical music, opera, and dance.

Contains: Performances, operas, dance titles, masterclasses, documentaries, scores, and interviews.

Good for: Listening to live performances in genres including funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and world music. 

Contains: Live performances archived on video.

Good for: Viewing opera performances.

Contains: Staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

Good for: Authoritative encyclopedia entries about music and musicians. Entries are extensive and contain work lists, bibliographies, terminology, and other facets of music research. 

Contains: Essays and bibliographies

Good for: Identifying journal articles by music scholars and musicians.

Contains: Index to music journals.

Dates covered: 1975-present.

Good for: Researching music literature using a comprehensive international index. 

Contains: Abstracts of journal articles, dissertations, and book chapters. (Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.)

Dates covered: 1967-present.

Good for: Researching education. 

Contains: Journal articles, book chapters, and educational reports. 

Dates covered: 1966-present.