Generally, by limiting your search to Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed sources, you will be able to find what is required for your Capstone paper. However, on occasion (such as when you're searching Google Scholar), you might not be certain if the article is peer reviewed. Go to the Ulrichs database (listed below) to find out if the article is peer-reviewed.

Interlibrary Loan​

The Interlibrary Loan department is here to help UNLV students, staff, and faculty access information that is not available from the UNLV Libraries. We are able to obtain most books, articles, conference papers, government publications, and dissertations through our network of lending libraries.

In order to register for and use our ILLiad Document Delivery system, you must have an active library account with no fines on it.

Log on (or create) an ILIAD account:

(If you do not have an account, click on "First Time Users Click Here" tab)

When you are searching for your research, try a wide variety of keywords, such as the following:

• DBT AND latina AND "domestic violence" 
• "dialectical behavioral therapy AND hispanic" AND "family violence" AND attitude

(See PowerPoint for more details on searching databases)

You can set your browser to have Google Scholar link to full text articles in UNLV Libraries' databases from any computer you use.  You will see UNLV Find Text link at the bottom of the citation or a next to the title.  If you are using Google Scholar from a campus computer it should automatically recognize you as a Western user.

To set Google Scholar up for off-campus access:

1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
2. Use the downward facing arrow (next to the "my citations" link) in the upper right hand corner.'
3. Click on "settings"
4. Click on "Library Links" in the left navigation field
5. Search for University of Nevada, Las Vegas (NOT UNLV)  in the box that comes up.
6. Tick the box next to both entries that come up with "university of nevada, las vegas" in their titles.

Let's say you discover a great article through an author's bibliography. How do you find out if UNLV has access to it? Below are the steps to locate a journal article with a citation.

Citation example: 

Title: Preventing Teen Pregnancy & Academic Failure: Experimental Evaluation of a Developmentally Based Approach

Author: Joseph P. Allen, et al

Child Development Vol. 68(4) Aug. 1997 pp. 729-42

To find out if we have access to this citation, go to the A to Z List of Journals link, then type in the name of the journal: Child Development
You will then be directed to the databases that include access to the specific journal:
 

Full text available at: EBSCOhost MLA International Bibliography With Full Text

• Available from 1930.
  Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
•  
• Full text available at: JSTOR Arts and Sciences IV
• Available from 1930 volume: 1 issue: 1.
  Most recent 6 year(s) not available.
•  
• Full text available at: Wiley Online Library Database Model 2018
• Available from 1997 volume: 68 issue: 1.
•  
• Full text available at: EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
• Available from 1930.
  Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
•  
• Full text available at: EBSCOhost Professional Development Collection
• Available from 1930.
  Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
•  
• Full text available at: EBSCOhost SocINDEX with Full Text
• Available from 1930.
  Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

• Organize your research
• Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
• Import references from many data sources
• Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
• Include citations while you write your paper

"New" RefWorks Instructions

• Proquest RefWorks guide
• New RefWorks tutorials (YouTube)
• RefWorks Citation Manager (Microsoft Word plugin)
• Write N Cite install links for Windows and Mac
• Using Write N Cite with Microsoft Word
• Migrating references from other applications to RefWorks