JOUR 484/JMS 684: Mass Media and Political Communication (Bates): Library Guides

You can set your browser to have Google Scholar link to full text articles in UNLV Libraries' databases from any computer you use.  You will see UNLV Find Text link at the bottom of the citation or a next to the title.  If you are using Google Scholar from a campus computer it should automatically recognize you as a Western user.

To set Google Scholar up for off-campus access:

1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/
2. Use the downward facing arrow (next to the "my citations" link) in the upper right hand corner.'
3. Click on "settings"
4. Click on "Library Links" in the left navigation field
5. Search for University of Nevada, Las Vegas (NOT UNLV)  in the box that comes up.
6. Tick the box next to both entries that come up with "university of nevada, las vegas" in their titles.

An easy way to find government info: After you type in your keywords on Google, then type, site:.gov 

A think tank or policy institute is a research institute which performs research and advocacy concerning topics such as social policy, political strategy, economics, military, technology, and culture. Although many think tanks claim to be neutral, some may be considered to have a more conservative or a more liberal agenda. For example, the Cato Institute is a libertarian think tank and the Heritage Foundation is considered to be conservative. Be sure to examine the "About the Organization" page, in addition to outside sources to investigate the organization's agenda and their political views.

• Brookings Institution

  Center

• American Civil Liberties Union

  Liberal

• Heritage Foundation

  Conservative

• Cato Institute

  Libertarian

• American Enterprise Institute

  Conservative

• Center for American Progress

  Liberal

• Hoover Institution

  Conservative

• New America Foundation

  Center

• Rand Corporation

  Center

• Urban Institute

  Center

• The Living Room Candidate (Museum of the Moving Image): - 300+ Presidential campaign TV commercials, 1952 - present with analysis, election results, transcripts and additional online resources with links to fund analysis and history

• Political Advertising Resource Center (Univ. Maryland)

  Current project has a large collection of political ads and analyses related to the health care reform of 2009.

• The :30 Second Candidate

  Learn about political advertisements from PBS's award-winning documentary The 30-Second Candidate. 1940’s-present.

• Wesleyan Media Project: Political Advertising Analysis

  Successor to the Wisconsin Advertising Project. Covers 2008 forward; currently the full data is unavailable because of a 4 year embargo by Kantar Media/CMAG, who supply the data. There is some summary data and analysis available through the press releases of the project.

• Julian P. Kanter Political Commercial Collection: A strong collection of political commercials from the internationally recognized Carl Albert Congressional Research and Studies Center at the University of Oklahoma.

• Political TV Ad Archive: - Searchable, viewable, and shareable online archive of 2016 political TV ads, with fact-checking and reporting

  - Project of the Internet Archive