LibGuides: JOUR 420: Visual Literacy (Kilker): Library Guides

ARTStor & Other Visual Resources Located on UNLV Libraries Database Page

ARTstor
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.

ARTstor Guide
Photographs from Special Collections and Archives Portal
Online photos of Nevada and Nevadans.

Kanopy
This streaming video service provides access to thousands of titles in such areas of the arts, humanities, business, sciences, media/communications, education and more.
Source producers include Media Education Foundation, BBC, PBS, Kino Lorber, Documentary Educational Resources Collection, among others.
Getty Images
Images from the J. Paul Getty museum - use the search filters to choose the type of material for your results.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Images held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress. About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations.
National Gallery of Art images
Images from the National Gallery of Art

Other Resources for Images

Corbis
Rights Managed and Royalty-free stock photography
LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art)
LACMA has nearly 20,000 images avaialble free of copyright restrictions.
Life Photo Archive
Millions of news and editorial photographs and other images dating from 1750 to the present. Includes many iconic images, but most were never published.
NYPL Digital Photo Collections
Includes several fashion design collections as well as many historical photos from the NY Public Library.
Online Gallery. British Library
More than 30,000 digital images of maps, prints and drawings, photographs, and other documents, and rare early sound recordings from around the globe.
Smithsonian Photographs Archive
Time Life Photos
Search and view photos published in Time Life publications
UNR Photographs
USC Libraries Digital Archive
"Digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, as well as audio and video recordings [emphasizing] materials related to Los Angeles and the Southern California and the Pacific Rim."

Image Search Engines

Google Images is a quick and easy way to find lots of images from web pages across the globe. But it only searches web content that it can find -- many images are actually hidden in databases or galleries. The quality of images - size, resolution, description, usage rights - also varies considerably on the open web. Use Google, but don't rely on it for all image searches.

Google Image Search Tip: Use advanced search or facets to limit by image size, images within a domain/site (e.g. site: unlv.edu), and usage rights.
Google Use Google's web search to find hidden image collections. Search example: KEYWORD ("image archive" OR "image gallery" OR "image collection" OR "image database")
PicSearch
Bing

Advertising Images

Ad*Access
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Concentrates on five main subject areas: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II, providing a view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in the J. Walter Thompson Company Competitive Advertisements Collection of the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History in Duke University’s Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library.
Vintage Adbrowser
Over 100,000 vintage printed ads from 1800 to 2000, organized by subject. Reproductions available for a fee.
AdFlip Commercial database of classic advertisements
Commercial database of classic advertisements

Maps

Southern Nevada and Las Vegas, History in Maps
The maps selected for this digital project document the cartographic history and context of the American West, the American Southwest, Nevada, and Southern Nevada, telescoping in scale from the Western Hemisphere to the streets of Las Vegas.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Library of Congress digital images of city maps from Nevada in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Nevada in Maps (UNR)

Searching for Books--Photographs, Advertising, etc.

From the Libraries Quick Search, remember to limit to Books. You can also limit by location--to Lied or Architecture.

UNLV Architecture Studies Library: https://www.library.unlv.edu/arch

Call Number Ranges in the Stacks:

Advertising: HF 5813
Works by Individual Photographers: TR 647
By eras: TR 652-TR 655
Photography subject:
Architectural: TR 659
Fashion: TR 679
Landscape: TR 660
Portrait: TR 680-1
Still Life: TR 656.5
Wildlife, animals: TR 21-729

Photojournalism: TR 820

Visual arts: N

Architecture: NA

Sculpture: NB
Drawing, Design, Illustration: NC
Painting: ND
Print Media: NE

Decorative arts: NK

Arts in General: NX

Other Library Guides with Extensive Image-Related Resources

Usage Rights Filters

Creative Commons
Search for images you can use--and be sure to unclick use for commercial purposes if the use is academic in nature.
Google Images
Click on the Search tools menu and then select the dropdown menu for Usage Rights. That menu offers five choices: Not filtered by license, Labeled for reuse, Labeled for commercial reuse, Labeled for reuse with modification, and Labeled for commercial reuse with modification. Select the option you wish to use, and the page refreshes to include only those images.
The images are typically ones licensed byCreative Commons or GNU Free Documentation, or are items in the public domain. The "labeled for reuse" option allows you to use the image for non-commercial purposes as specified in the license. The "labeled for commercial reuse" lets you use the image commercially. The "reuse with modification" option grants you the ability to alter the image.
Google Help Page
A Google help page describes the various licensing and usage options.

UNLV Special Collections & Archives
"The UNLV University Libraries Special Collections Division engages researchers world-wide in the interdisciplinary study of our region. We promote learning, discovery, and scholarship about Las Vegas, Southern Nevada, and gaming. We collect and preserve rare and unique materials about our region's heritage, and expertly help researchers use our collections. We also serve as UNLV's University Archives."

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

JOUR 420: Visual Literacy (Kilker): Library Guides