Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries.
Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.
Dates covered: 1880-2015.
Good for: Learning about notable people from all time periods and areas of study.
Contains: Images, brief biographies, and links to magazine articles and websites.
Sports Illustrated: Sports news and expert analysis including NFL, NBA, NHL, MLB, NASCAR, college athletics.
ESPN: Cable TV network with sports (college, pro, etc.) news coverage, scores, highlights and commentary.
2018 Participation Report: The Physical Activity Council’s annual study tracking sports, fitness, and recreation participation in the US.
Good for: Researching sports, physical education, and sports medicine.
Contains: Journal articles and more.
Dates covered: 1975-present.
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.
Good for: Searching the text of articles published in the Las Vegas Review-Journal.
Contains: Article text (no images).
Dates covered: 1996-present.
Good for: Studying blues, jazz, spirituals, and other forms connected with Black American musical expression.
Contains: Encyclopedia entries, liner notes and album art.
Good for: Finding academic studies about rock and roll and other popular music around the world, plus interdisciplinary studies of the theory, methodology, and practice of sound.
Contains: Encyclopedia entries, essays, and books.
Good for: Encyclopedia entries about classical music history and musicians.
Contains: Essential music reference works including Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries.
Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.
Dates covered: 1880-2015.
Good for: Finding and using digital images for research and teaching.
Contains: Art digital images and related data.
Fashion.net: Considered the world’s first fashion site that has connected leading fashion and luxury brands with millions of fashion-savvy consumers since 1995.
Style.com: News, trends, street, beauty, culture, fashion shows.
Fashion Photography Archive: Digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress.
Good for: Searching North American women's magazines and their historical context.
Contains: Women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Dates covered: 1887-2005.
Good for: Researching fashion and culture.
Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.
Dates covered: 1892-present.
Good for: Exploring contemporary fashion history and clothing designers.
Contains: Photos, essays, and videos.
Dates covered: 1980-present.
Good for: Researching art publications.
Contains: Index with selected full text.
Dates covered: 1997-present.
Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries.
Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.
Dates covered: 1880-2015.
Good for: Searching articles that analyze film, television and aspects of popular culture.
Contains: Articles published in scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Variety.com: Entertainment news magazine for over 100 years focusing on film, TV, theater, music, etc.
HollywoodReporter.com: Breaking news about Hollywood and entertainment, including movies, TV, reviews and industry blogs.
U.S. Trends in Arts Attendance and Literary Reading 2002-2017, Natl. Endowment for the Arts: These statistics come from the 2017 Survey of Public Participation in the Arts, the nation’s premier instrument for tracking adult patterns of arts engagement
Good for: Finding scholarship in communication and mass media studies, including journalism and popular culture.
Contains: Journal articles.
Dates covered: 1900-current date
Good for: Finding transcripts of television and radio news reports.
Contains: Text transcripts or closed captioning scripts from broadcast journalism.
Dates covered: 1990-present.
Provides current and historical prime time television listings dating back to 1950, with selected programming outside of prime time. Includes episode lists with synopses and original air dates, awards, and ratings, along with links to Wikipedia, IMDB, TV Guide, BFI and video streaming sites.
