It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HMD 405 Hospitality Strategic Management: Getting Started
Course transforms students into strategic business leaders. Students assume the role of hospitality managers responsible their company's current and future success. Students acquire in-depth knowledge of strategic management concepts and techniques.
This guide provides resources in support of the capstone project for HMD 405.
This course transforms students into strategic business leaders. Students assume the role of hospitality managers responsible for their company's current and future success. Students acquire in-depth knowledge of strategic management concepts and techniques and develop strategies that enable companies to build and maintain a competitive advantage in a rapidly changing business environment.
Best Bets - Recommended Resources
Hospitality Strategic Management by Cathy A. Enz; Jeffrey S. HarrisonUpdated to include the current models, theories, and hospitality practices, Hospitality Strategic Management: Concept and Cases, Second Edition is a comprehensive guide to strategic management in the international hospitality industry. Author Cathy A. Enz uses the case study approach to cover current topics such as innovation, entrepreneurship, leadership, ethics, and franchising. Eight full case studies with exhibits and documents address the areas of lodging, food service, tourism e-commerce, gaming, cruise lines, and airlines, making this book ideal for executive level training courses or hospitality industry executives interested in developing their strategic management skills.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2009-04-07
Strategic Management by Fred R. David; Forest R. DavidFor undergraduate and graduate courses in strategy. In today's economy, gaining and sustaining a competitive advantage is harder than ever. Strategic Management captures the complexity of the current business environment and delivers the latest skills and concepts with unrivaled clarity, helping students develop their own cutting-edge strategy through skill-developing exercises. The Fifteenth Edition has been thoroughly updated and revised with current research and concepts. This edition includes 29 new cases and end-of- chapter material, including added exercises and review questions. MyManagementLab for Strategic Management is a total learning package. MyManagementLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program that truly engages students in learning. It helps students better prepare for class, quizzes, and exams--resulting in better performance in the course--and provides educators a dynamic set of tools for gauging individual and class progress. This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. Here's how: Personalize Learning with MyManagementLab: Inspire the exchange of new ideas and foster intriguing discussions with the abundant resources found in MyManagementLab. Guide Student's Learning: Proven pedagogy, exercise sets, and end--of-chapter material are all geared towards ensuring students grasp the concepts. Show Concepts in Action: 29 new case studies have been added to this edition to maximize effectiveness in applying strategic management through case analysis. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab search for ISBN-10: 0133768767/ISBN-13: 9780133768763. That package includes ISBN-10: 0133444791/ISBN-13: 9780133444797 and ISBN-10: 0133451836/ISBN-13: 9780133451832. MyLab is not a self-paced technology and should only be purchased when required by an instructor.
Hospitality & Tourism CompleteThis link opens in a new window1960-
Full text of articles about hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more
Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
ABI/INFORM CollectionThis link opens in a new window1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly Scope: International Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
D&B HooversThis link opens in a new windowThis global business information database contains current public and private company information, SWOT analyses, market report, company news, financial information and executive profiles.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Lateka Grays, Hospitality & Career Services Librarian