Article Searching - GAM 485 - 1002 eSports Gambling Innovation Lab - LibGuides at University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Article Searches (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Business photo created by creativeart - www.freepik.com

Database Search Tips

Don’t Let Database Searching Stress You Out! Written by: Brittany Geissinger and Linda Salem San Diego State University Libraries

Distinguishing Source Types

What is a Trade Publication?

Scholarly, Trade, and Popular Publications - Research 101 - LibGuides at Ithaca College

Resources

Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Full text of articles about hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more
Hospitality & Tourism Complete is a database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Full-text coverage of over 200 publications that include the subject areas of hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with company profiles and SWOT analyses.
The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage about the impact of humans on the environment from government, general and scholarly publications can be found in this resource.
It contains over 300,000 records and over 200 cited references from the agriculture, education, law, health and technology fields.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1975-
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Update frequency: quarterly
An international database indexing journal articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, and dissertations and theses in sports medicine, biomechanics, psychology, coaching, physical education and fitness, training, and other related topics. Includes access to the full text of more than 230 journals
ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology with deep backfiles for more than 1600 journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.
Gale OneFile: Hospitality and Tourism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Discover well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

Newspaper Databases

Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.
Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950s - present
Access is limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Continuously updated news and business information from major news sources.
This database combines over 30,000 sources from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 titles from the U.S. and 100 countries in 60 languages. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings.
Users may access the database on desktop computer, tablet and smartphone. An archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional newspapers and broadcast television transcripts.
Newspaper Source provides full text coverage for 40 national and international newspapers including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. Selected full text is offered from more than 330 regional newspapers including The Buffalo News, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, San Francisco Chronicle, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Full text transcripts are available from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio, and more.

GAM 485 - 1002 eSports Gambling Innovation Lab: Article Searching

Article Searches (Magazines, Journals, Newspapers)

Database Search Tips

Distinguishing Source Types

What is a Trade Publication?

Resources

Newspaper Databases

Locations

Contact