LibGuides: COM 418 Rhetoric of Science (Bloomfield): Library Guides

COM 418-Library Workshop PowerPoint

COM 418 Fall 2021 PowerPoint

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
You can limit to booka, scholarly/peer reviewed journals, and other types of publications on Quick Search & also limit by disciplines.

When to Use Quick Search:

you are first starting your research
to get ideas or background info you have had difficulty finding sources in other databases you need
an alternative to Google - easy searching but with more credible/reliable results

On the left sidebar, you can "Refine Your Search" a number of different ways--including by publication date, by discipline (such as Communication) & by scholarly/peer reviewed sources.

UNLV Libraries Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
In depth research on controversial topics ranging from social issues to environment, health, education, science, and technology issues.
Balanced information on all sides of an issue, including comments from experts in the field, numerous charts and graphs, a pro-con feature, a chronology, a lengthy bibliography for additional research, and a list of contacts are included in each report.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1900-
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field.
The ComAbstracts database index contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communications field. Produced by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship. Use the link labeled "Check your library for full text access" to retrieve complete articles when available online.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1980s-
Searchable current and recent articles from newspapers, including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Full text of articles from major national newspapers: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, The Christian Science Monitor, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, USA Today. Also included are the New York Times Book Review, the New York Times Magazine, and the Las Vegas Review Journal.

Newspaper Databases Available through UNLV Libraries

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
You may want to look at the abstracts on this database to get an idea on how the scholars cover various science topics.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Academic brings together a variety of databases to provide access to a diverse and multidisciplinary research collection.
The database provides access to ProQuest Central, Academic Video Online, Academic Complete and ProQuest Dissertation and Theses Global. Users will have access to journal articles, streaming media, ebooks and dissertations and theses from all major subject areas, including business, health and medical (including nursing), social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science, engineering and religion.

Finding Government Information on Google

An easy way to find official government information on your controversial topic is to Google it!

After you type in your keywords, then add site:gov

Example: "California wildfires" site:.gov

Google Scholar

Books Focusing on Rhetoric of Science

How the Gene Got Its Groove by Elizabeth Parthenia Shea
ISBN: 9780791474266
Publication Date: 2009-01-08
Traces the rhetorical work of the gene in scientific and nonscientific discourse throughout the twentieth century.
Strategic Deception by Gordon R. Mitchell
ISBN: 0870135589
Publication Date: 2000-11-30
In this work, the author examines the technical and political dimensions of the recurrent ballistic missile defense controversies from a rhetorical perspective. The text argues that episodes of strategic deception in missile defense erode the democratic pedigree of American society.
Starring the Text by Alan G. Gross
ISBN: 9780809326969
Publication Date: 2006-02-27
Starring the Text: The Place of Rhetoric in Science Studies firmly establishes the rhetorical analysis of science as a respected field of study. Alan G. Gross, one of rhetoric's foremost authorities, summarizes the state of the field and demonstrates the role of rhetorical analysis in the sciences.
Citizen Science in the Digital Age by James Wynn
ISBN: 9780817319434
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
James Wynn's timely investigation highlights scientific studies grounded in publicly gathered data and probes the rhetoric these studies employ.
Computer Simulation, Rhetoric, and the Scientific Imagination by Aimee Kendall Roundtree
ISBN: 9781498557184
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Computer simulations help advance climatology, astrophysics, and other scientific disciplines. They are also at the crux of several high-profile cases of science in the news. How do simulation scientists, with little or no direct observations, make decisions about what to represent?
How the Gene Got Its Groove by Elizabeth Parthenia Shea
ISBN: 9780791474259
Publication Date: 2008-04-17
Traces the rhetorical work of the gene in scientific and nonscientific discourse throughout the twentieth century.