LibGuides: COM 211: Introduction to Rhetoric (Willes): Library Guides

Library Research and Newspaper Databases

UNLV Libraries Quick Search
What is Quick Search?
Quick Search searches for books and e-books, journal articles, videos, newspaper articles and more in UNLV's databases and collections.

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1900-
Journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies .
Update frequency: weekly
Communication & Mass Media Complete contains journal articles in the fields of communication and mass media studies. It merges CommSearch (formerly produced by the NCA, National Communication Association) and the Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides current issues and backfiles of in the fields of communication and mass media.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
Las Vegas Review Journal (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1996-
Full text of articles, not including images.

Current Newspapers Resource Guide: Local and national database subscriptions
This guide includes links to Las Vegas and national newspapers via library database subscriptions

Food Insecurity--College Students (Reports, Statistics, etc.)

Food Insecurity/Hunger--General Population Resources (Background & Context, Statistics)

Overview of Food Security in the US (USDA/Economic Research Service)
Food Insecurity Research (FeedingAmerica.org)
Food Access Research Atlas (USDA)
"Presents an overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility"
USDA US Food Security Key Statistics & Graphics
Food Insecurity Trended Upward in Midst of High Inflation and Fewer Supports (Urban Institute, 2022)
Food Research and Action Center (FRAC): Research and Data
'FRAC is the leading national nonprofit organization working to eradicate poverty-related hunger and undernutrition in the United States." This section of the website includes a resource library and various data resources.
Feeding America State Data Tool

UNLV Food Pantry Resources

Video: What is food insecurity?

Food Insecurity Rates in Clark County, Nevada, US, and Additional Resources

Food Pantries--Statistics, Reports, Funding

Food Waste

Ecology/Economic Proposals/Updates to End Hunger

Biden-Harris Administration National Strategy on Hunger, Nutrition, and Health (September, 2022)
The United States Can End Hunger and Food Insecurity for Millions of People (AmericanProgress.org, 2022)
Food systems: seven priorities to end hunger and protect the planet (Nature, 2021)
Food Research and Action Center (FRAC): Federal Nutrition Programs
Provides information on federal nutrition programs including school breakfast and lunch programs, women/infants/children (WIC) programs, etc.

Proposal Guidelines & Logistics and Sample Grant Proposals

Keeping Track & Citing Your Information

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.
Mendeley This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography manager that saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This bibliography manager lets you quickly link to online articles, organize your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
On Oct 31, 2024, UNLV Institutional Edition accounts will be downgraded to 2 GB of free storage and will encounter limits on the number of shared groups they can create. See the Mendeley guide for more information.

Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
Help w/Mendeley

refworks logo

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper (using Write-n-Cite plugin)
Access your personal account from any computer connected to the internet

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

COM 211: Introduction to Rhetoric (Willes): Library Guides

Recommended Readings