Skip to main content

Public Health

This guide supports Public Health at University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Nursing, Allied Health & Community Health Sciences Librarian

Xan Goodman
Contact:
Lied Library
Office 1172
702-895-2233

March is National Nutrition Month

March is National Nutrition Month 

Learn more about nutrition from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Image attribution: https://blog.bluefinapps.com/2012/02/03/february-is-heart-health-awareness-month/

Welcome to the Public Health Research Guide

Useful Resources for your Research

NEW DATABASES 

Embase is an index to scholarly articles in medicine, biomedical sciences, and allied health subjects. Embase content is indexed using a specialized thesaurus, Emtree, that includes biomedical, chemical, and drug terms. There is a special focus on drugs and devices.                    
 
Clinical Key provides full text access to leading medical textbooks, including specialties in internal medicine, orthopedic surgery, neurology and more.
 
Global Health is derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books, and conferences, and contains over 2.7 million scientific records from 1973 to the present.
 
Produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, this comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
 
Published by Lippincott, this collection includes 20 authoritative texts, from anatomy to pharmacology, that are commonly used during the first two years of graduate-level medical and related programs, as well as cases, clinical skills, multimedia resources, and teaching and learning tools.
 
All LWW journals available on OvidSP , including core journals and specialized resources in such areas as nursing and bioscience.
 

RESEARCH DATABASES:

PLEASE NOTE: The following searchable databases cover the health sciences including public health. Most of journal articles will be available to you full-text online. Those that are not available full-text can be acquired via Interlibrary Loan at no cost and with a turn-around time of 2 or 3 days.

CINAHL

The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. Linked full text.

Cochrane Library full text

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition full text

Nursing and allied health coverage is especially strong.

Journal Citation Reports full text

Published by Thomson-Reuters, JCR provides information on the influence of individual periodicals to publishing within specific scholarly disciplines (impact factors). Iy also gives information year-by-year on the impact factors of journals as well as the half-life (for how many years an article is cited after publication) of journals.

PubMed

Over 22 million citations from medical and life sciences journals. The majority of citations are from Medline.

Medline via Web of Knowledge

U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains over 19 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.

ScienceDirect full text

Nearly 2,000 full text Elsevier journals covering the areas of social science, medicine, science, and technology.

Scopus

Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature. Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.

Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, and MEDLINE.

DISSERTATIONS & THESES:

Dissertations and Theses

1861-Present. Providies citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text from 1997 to the present.

Dissertations and Theses full text

Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present.

 

INTERNET SEARCH ENGINES:

PLEASE NOTE: Google Scholar is a good place to start looking on the Internet to find scholarly articles.  Try using library article databases to enhance your web searches. 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. If your Google Scholar preferences are set, it will provide full text access to many UNLV scholarly journals.

 

 

About ebooks

The UNLV Library Catalog includes links to complete books that are available online through ebrary, EBSCO, Springer eBooks, and other publishers. Or you can search these individual collections of electronic books:

RefWorks: General Information

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

UPDATE: RefWorks-COS is pleased to announce lifelong access to users that are alumni of subscribing institutions. For additional information please visit this link .

ZOTERO

Use ZOTERO to collect all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**