Skip to main content

Allied Health Sciences

This guide supports Allied Health Sciences disciplines at University of Nevada, Las Vegas.

Databases

Search HINT: Remember to truncate words with asterisk to retrieve multiple word endings

Ex. Measure* will retrieve measurements, measure, and  measures

Cochrane Methodology Register

"Is a bibliography of publications that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books, and conference proceedings, and the content is sourced from MEDLINE and hand searches. CMR contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies that could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details), and, in some cases, a summary of the article. They do not contain the full text of the article." Last Updated 2012.

CINAHL

Do a regular search and limit to the publication type "research instrument" or "questionnaire/scale."

Dissertations and Theses

If you know the name of the instrument it may have been used in somebody's thesis or dissertation.  If so, the instrument could be reprinted there, along with information on who to contact to get permission to use it.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

PubMed

Do a MeSH search (subject search) and add headings such as "questionnaires" or "qualitative research."

NIH Toolbox & PROMIS Registration Information

Websites and Web Portals

UNLV Test & Measures Subject Guide

Educational Testing Service. "Test Link."

National Quality Measures Clearinghouse.

Stanford University. School of Medicine. "Research Instruments Developed, Adapted or Used by the Stanford Patient Education Research Center."

University of Illinois at Chicago. College of Nursing. Center for Reducing Risks in Vulnerable Populations. "Instrument bank tables."  Includes lists of instruments and where they can be found.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences resource page: compiled by Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian, University of Texas at Arlington. Contents include Compilation volumes' table of contents (127 resources, about 12,000 measures; additional in RefShare version of database), Links to Various Libraries' Tests and Measures FAQs , and Publications examined but not indexed.

 General Psychiatric Rating Scales: compiled by
Neurotransmitter.net in several categories under Rating Scales.

 Test Instruments and Measures:
extensive guide compiled by UNC-Health Sciences Library

Finding Measurement Tools:  A tutorial from the University of Washington that walks you through the process for finding measurement tools including scenarios for Find Specific Test,Find Test for Variable, Find Quality of Life Tests, and Find Test Reviews.  Includes Quick Tips and Resource Tables.

HINT: Remember to truncate words with asterisk to retrieve multiple word endings

Ex. Measure* will retrieve measurements, measure, and  measures

 

Books

Antonak, Richard F. The measurement of attitudes toward people with disabilities: methods, psychometrics, and scales. Springfield, IL: C.C. Thomas, 1988. HV1553 .A62 1988

Clayton, Gloria M., Broome, Marion. Instruments for use in nursing education research. New York: National League for Nursing, 1989. RT73 .C53 1989

Cook, John D. The experience of work: a compendium and review of 249 measures and their use. New York: Academic Press, 1981. HF5549.5.A83 E9 1989

Fischer, Joel. Measures for clinical practice and research: a sourcebook. 4th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. BF176 .C66 2007

Frank-Stromborg, Marilyn, and Olsen, Sharon J. (eds.) Instruments for clinical health-care research. 3rd ed. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2004. RT81.5 .I57 2004

Guzzetta, Cathie E., et al. Clinical assessment tools for use with nursing diagnoses. St. Louis: Mosby, 1989. RT48 .C58 1989

McDowell, Ian. Measuring health: a guide to rating scales and questionnaires. 3rd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. RA408.5 .M38 2006

Mangen, David J., and Peterson, Warren A. (eds.) Research instruments in social gerontology. Minneapolis, MI: University of Minnesota Press, 1982. link to online book

Perlmutter, Barry F., Touliatos, John, and Holden, George W. Handbook of family measurement techniques. 3 vols. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2001.

Redman, Barbara K. (ed.) Measurement tools in patient education. 2nd ed. New York: Springer Publishing, 2003. R727.4 .M4 2003

Robinson, John P., Shaver, Phillip R., and Wrightman, Lawrence S. Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes. San Diego, Academic Press, 1991. BF698.4 .M38 1991

Sawin, Kathleen J., Harrigan, Marcia P., and Woog, Pierre (eds.) Measures of family functioning for research and practice. New York : Springer Pub. Co., c1995. HQ515 .S29 1995

Shaw, Marvin E., and Wright, Jack M. Scales for the measurement of attitudes. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1967. BF378.A75 S45

Waltz, Carolyn Feher, and Jenkins, Louise Sherman (eds.) Measurement of nursing outcomes. 2nd ed. New York: Springer Pub. Co., 2001- RT85.5 .M434 2001

Ward, Mary Jane, and Lindeman, Carol Ann (eds.) Instruments for measuring nursing practice and other health care variables. Hyattsville, Md. : Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Health Resources Administration, Bureau of Health Manpower, Division of Nursing ; Washington : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1979. Gov Pubs HE 20.6602:In 7/3/v.1-2

Wilkin, David, Hallam, Leslie, and Doggett, Marie-Ann. Measures of need and outcome for primary health care. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. RA407 .W55 1992

© University of Nevada Las Vegas
**