A great tool for when you are beginning your research, Quick Search is a research discovery engine that provides instant search access to many of the University Libraries’ resources, including journal and newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, electronic and print books, and much more. Quick Search results can be filtered by limiting to type of source, date range, subject, etc.
Type keywords into the search box to begin finding resources!
Finding Background Information
The following resources provide background information on dancers, choreographers, works, and dance terms. They are a great place to start your research and will help you explore and focus possible topics.
A unique interactive resource designed to bring dance to the Web and make it accessible to everyone. Dover Publications has graciously allowed the use of 170 terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet, which are then demonstrated by ABT Company dancers.
The Encyclopedia's inclusive approach encompasses opera and film, dance and radio, and para-theatrical, non-dramatic performances including circuses and carnivals, and parades and public executions--providing truly extensive coverage from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance is a unique single volume reference on all aspects of dance performance written by two leading dance writers, Debra Craine and Judith Mackrell. The work covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.
This is a comprehensive reference work to 970 choreographers who worked in nearly 3,500 films. For each, there is a biography providing date and place of birth (and death when appropriate), a description of their choreographic style and a listing of their stage, television, music video, nightclub and concert credits. This is followed by a listing of the movies they choreographed. A decade-by-decade history of dance on film and a filmography of choreographically important works in each decade are included.
Yet there are many discrepancies in the perceived meaning, spelling and usage between various countries and teaching methods, and this dictionary aims to prevent confusion by explaining the precise meanings of over 560 of the French technical terms used in classical ballet. The dictionary is also unique in that it addresses the problems of correct spelling and grammar.