LibGuides: SW795-Spring 2024 Capstone Seminar (Overcamp-Martini): SW795-Spring 2024

SW795 Spring Semester 2024 Library Workshop PowerPoint

SW795 PowerPoint

How Can You Tell When an Article is Peer-Reviewed?

Generally, by limiting your search to Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed sources, you will be able to find what is required for your Capstone paper. However, on occasion (such as when you're searching Google Scholar), you might not be certain if the article is peer reviewed. Go to the Ulrichs database (listed below) to find out if the article is peer-reviewed.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed. It covers all subjects and includes information about publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

When UNLV Libraries Doesn't Own Material That You Need

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan department is here to help UNLV students, staff, and faculty access information that is not available from the UNLV Libraries. We are able to obtain most books, articles, conference papers, government publications, and dissertations through our network of lending libraries.

In order to register for and use our ILLiad Document Delivery system, you must have an active library account with no fines on it.

Log on (or create) an ILIAD account:

(If you do not have an account, click on "First Time Users Create an Account" link)

UNLV Library Databases

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 30 databases indexing all subject areas with a heavy focus on business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports.
Lists more than 30 databases available through the EBSCOhost interface. The databases index all subject areas with solid coverage of business, education, film, health, psychology, sociology, and sports. For each database there is a description of the content and some link to a Title List of indexed journals. The databases contain full text articles and link to more articles. Choose a single database to search or select multiple databases and search them simultaneously
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
AgeLine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1978-
Abstracts on social gerontology. Also includes health care, public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), this database includes citations with abstracts drawn from the literature in social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. Health care, public policy, employment and consumer issues are particularly well-covered.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical literature related to growth and development of children.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides citations to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews, abstracts from hundreds of journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. Use this resource to search all issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography.
Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Journal articles recording research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, produced by NISC, is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches a variety of undisclosed academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. The full text of many items is freely available online, although in some instances abstracts with links to pay-per-view document delivery services are displayed.

Click on the UNLV Find Text link to see if the library subscribes to the publication.
Google Scholar Setup Tipsheet

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an index to the world's literature on lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for 55 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 100 full-text monographs/books.
NASW Clinical Register This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides a listing of registered clinical social workers.
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), this database provides a listing of registered clinical social workers, including their address and phone number; education and specialization; type of practice, and license information. These registered clinical social workers have met national standards for education and experience established by the NASW Competence Certification Commission.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950s-
Abstracts of current research in social work, human services, social policy, and community development.
Social Services Abstracts identify and summarize current research in social work, human services, social policy, and community development.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1963-
Citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers in sociology.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
Sociological Abstracts provides access to worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Included are citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, and association papers. The database includes research within the following topics: anthropology, business, collective behavior, community development, disaster studies, education, environmental studies, gender studies, gerontology, law and penology, marriage and family studies, medicine and health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, sociological theory, stratification, substance abuse, urban studies, and violence.
Sociology: A Sage Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text journals covering contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work.
This collection includes the full text of 28 journals, some going back 20 years, covering over 10,000 articles. This searchable database covers such subjects as contemporary sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, social theory, the sociology of sport and the sociology of work. Each bibliographic record in the collection links to the full text article in PDF format.

Locating an Article with a Citation

Let's say you discover a great article through an author's bibliography. How do you find out if UNLV has access to it? Below are the steps to locate a journal article with a citation.

Citation example:

Title: Preventing Teen Pregnancy & Academic Failure: Experimental Evaluation of a Developmentally Based Approach

Author: Joseph P. Allen, et al

Child Development Vol. 68(4) Aug. 1997 pp. 729-42

To find out if we have access to this citation, go to the A to Z list of journal titles link, then type in the name of the journal: Child Development
You will then be directed to the databases that include access to the specific journal:

Using RefWorks

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic software package that enables you to:

Organize your research
Create a bibliography in a variety of citation styles, including APA, MLA and Chicago
Import references from many data sources
Create bibliographies in different document formats (Word, RTF, HTML, etc.)
Include citations while you write your paper

RefWorks Tutorials

APA Style Resources

APA Overview: PPT (updated for 7th Edition), including potentially tricky examples such as book chapters and secondary citations.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) - APA Style Guide: This is a dependable site for APA questions. Look for their Sample Paper, too.

Other Resources:

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
From APA: Detailed instructions and examples from the 7th edition
Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
from APA
Free DOI Lookup Tool
Provides a DOI for an article citation when one is available.
Is it Plagiarism Yet? (Purdue OWL)
Explains when to give credit to another person for their intellectual work (and how to do it correctly). Look for the "Quoting, Paraphrasing, and Summarizing" section on the left for examples of each.

Evaluating Info & Scholarly vs. Popular Handout

Evaluating Info & Scholarly vs. Popular

Literature Review Resources

Video: Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students.

Subject Guide

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

SW795-Spring 2024 Capstone Seminar (Overcamp-Martini): SW795-Spring 2024

Try the UNLV Libraries QuickSearch!

SW795 Spring Semester 2024 Library Workshop PowerPoint

How Can You Tell When an Article is Peer-Reviewed?

When UNLV Libraries Doesn't Own Material That You Need

Interlibrary Loan

UNLV Library Databases

Locating an Article with a Citation

Using RefWorks

APA Style Resources

Evaluating Info & Scholarly vs. Popular Handout

Literature Review Resources

Subject Guide

Locations

Contact

SW795-Spring 2024 Capstone Seminar (Overcamp-Martini): SW795-Spring 2024

Try the UNLV Libraries QuickSearch!

SW795 Spring Semester 2024 Library Workshop PowerPoint

How Can You Tell When an Article is Peer-Reviewed?

When UNLV Libraries Doesn't Own Material That You Need

Interlibrary Loan​

UNLV Library Databases

Locating an Article with a Citation

Using RefWorks

APA Style Resources

Evaluating Info & Scholarly vs. Popular Handout

Literature Review Resources

Subject Guide

Locations

Contact

Interlibrary Loan