LibGuides: Preparing to Publish Creative Writing: Resources from the Rebel+ Workshop

Undergraduate journals

From the Brush
From the Brush Arts and Literary Journal is a student-led organization established by UNLV's Honors College.
Beyond Thought
Beyond Thought promotes artistic freedom among undergraduate students from different backgrounds. With UNLV as our home base, our diverse staff and creators offer our audience different perspectives of the world, situations, and ourselves.
Glass Mountain
Glass Mountain, the undergraduate literary journal at the University of Houston, is run by undergraduate students for undergraduate students, with the wants, needs, and curiosities of the emerging artist in mind.
Student Literary Magazines – the NewPages Guide
Directory of literary magazines published by students in undergraduate programs in the US and Canada.

Black Mountain Institute recorded events

Let UNLV Libraries know what you need!

Model Contract

Author's Guild Model Contract
This annotated model contract will give some idea of what to expect and what the sections of a contract mean.
Contact Andrea Wirth, Scholarly Communication Librarian

Reader Advisory

NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use NoveList Plus to search for book recommendations by age, format, genre, topic, tone, character type, awards, and more. Includes professional reviews and read-alike recommendations for each book.
Gale Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Get reading recommendations for fiction and popular nonfiction or identify comparable works for writing book proposals.

Annual directories

MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Editorial contact information as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines for 7100 journals in modern languages and literature.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 7,100 journals, of which 4,400 are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography. Entries include editorial contact information as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines. This directory has publication information only - use the MLA International Bibliography to locate journal articles in literature.

AAUP Subject Area Grid
Annually updated diagram of areas of focus of university presses.
CLMP Directory of Independent Literary Publishers
Links, editorial contact information, and scope of literary periodicals and presses from Community of Literary Magazines and Presses.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world, including whether or not they are peer reviewed. It covers all subjects and includes information about publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

Writers' and Artists' Yearbook 2023 : The Best Advice on How to Write and Get Published
ISBN: 9781472991300
UK focused resource with advice, industry details.
Novel and Short Story Writer's Market by Amy Jones (Editor)
ISBN: 9780593332085
Publication Date: 2021
The 40th edition of NSSWM features hundreds of updated listings for book publishers, literary agents, fiction publications, contests, and more. Each listing includes contact information, submission guidelines, and other essential tips.
Poet's Market 34th Edition : The Most Trusted Guide to Publishing Poetry by Robert Lee Brewer
ISBN: 9780593419090
Publication Date: 2021
Writer's Market 100th ed. by Robert Lee Brewer (Editor)
Call Number: UNLV Reference PN161 .W83
ISBN: 9780593332085
Publication Date: 2021
Thousands of publishing opportunities for writers, including listings for book publishers, consumer and trade magazines, contests and awards, and literary agents--as well as new playwriting and screenwriting sections. These listings feature contact and submission information to help writers get their work published. Beyond the listings, you'll find articles devoted to the business and promotion of writing. Discover 20 literary agents actively seeking writers and their writing, how to develop an author brand, and overlooked funds for writers. This edition also includes the ever-popular pay-rate chart and book publisher subject index!
Guide to Literary Agents 30th Edition by Robert Lee Brewer
ISBN: 9780593332108
Publication Date: 2021

Planning and submitting creative work for publication

Free services

Poets and Writers literary magazines database
Connect your poems, stories, essays, and reviews to the right audiences by researching over twelve hundred literary magazines in our database. Here, you’ll find editorial policies, submission guidelines, contact information—everything you need to direct your work to the publications most amenable to your vision.
Erika Krouse’s Ranking of 483 Literary Magazines for Short Fiction
Clifford Garstang - 2023 Literary Magazine Ranking — Fiction
Erika Dreifus Markets and Jobs for Writers
The NewPages Submission Guide

Paid services

Duotrope
Subscription-based ($5/month or $50 year) searchable database of over 4,250 active publishers, with statistics on publishers' response times, acceptance-rejection ratios, etc. and the ability to track all your submissions in your own submissions tracker.
LitMagNews (Becky Tuch)
substack newsletter

Track your submissions

Submittable
Search thousands of opportunities from grants to writing to film; track your submissions and get notified when you’re selected.
Chill Subs
Chill Subs is a free database of 4000+ submission opportunities for writers, & artists. Plus loads of never-before-seen tools for writers to help with finding & submitting to literary magazines.
Duosuma (Duotrope)
Duosuma is Duotrope's Submission Manager platform. It helps publishing projects and literary agents receive and manage their submissions quickly, easily, and affordably.
Submission Grinder
The Submission Grinder is a donation-supported submission tracker and market database for writers of fiction and poetry.

Refining and improving your writing

Craft essays

No Failure, Only Practice (Matt Bell)
Counter Craft (Lincoln Michel)
substack newsletter
LitHub: Craft and Advice
ElectricLit: Essays
The Workshop

Online classes

Writing Groups

Workshops and Conferences

Literary Magazines

A-Z List of Journal Titles
Search this list to find out if UNLV Libraries offers access with your ACE account.
AGNI
- This link opens in a new window
American Poetry Review
- This link opens in a new window
Antioch Review
- This link opens in a new window
Beloit Poetry Journal
- This link opens in a new window
BOMB
- This link opens in a new window
Boulevard
- This link opens in a new window
Carolina Quarterly
- This link opens in a new window
Chicago Review
- This link opens in a new window
Colorado review
- This link opens in a new window
Ecotone: reimagining place
- This link opens in a new window
Georgia Review
- This link opens in a new window
Harper's
- This link opens in a new window
Harvard Review
- This link opens in a new window
Hudson Review
- This link opens in a new window
Iowa Review
- This link opens in a new window
Kenyon Review
- This link opens in a new window
LitMag
- This link opens in a new window
Missouri Review
- This link opens in a new window
Mosaic
- This link opens in a new window
New Criterion
- This link opens in a new window
New England Review
- This link opens in a new window
New Yorker
- This link opens in a new window
North American Review
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford American
- This link opens in a new window
Parnassus
- This link opens in a new window
Ploughshares
- This link opens in a new window
Review of Contemporary Fiction
- This link opens in a new window
Sewanee Review
- This link opens in a new window
Southwest review
- This link opens in a new window
Subtropics
- This link opens in a new window
TriQuarterly
- This link opens in a new window
Virginia Quarterly Review
- This link opens in a new window
West Branch
- This link opens in a new window
Witness
Yale Review
- This link opens in a new window

Online Literary Journals
List of free-to-read literary journals that accept poetry submissions maintained by University of Arizona Poetry Center.
American Short Fiction
Conjunctions
Copper Nickel
Déraciné
The Forge
Helen: A Literary Magazine
Interim
Jacket
Kenyon review online
Longleaf Review
McSweeney's
Narrative magazine
Neon Geyser, Porcelain Sky
Poetry
swamp pink
Taco Bell Quarterly

Granta
PN2 .G68
New Letters
PS501 .N47
Paris Review
AP4 .P245
Witness

Grants and other funding

Pivot
- This link opens in a new window
Pivot provides information about funding sources for researchers in virtually all fields. Pivot is available for all UNLV faculty, staff, researchers, research administrators and students.
more...less...
campus use only

Nevada Grant Watch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Limit: 5 simultaneous users Nevada Grant Watch is a database that lists over 200 relevant grants for the State of Nevada in the area of NGOs, education, religious, community organizations, government agencies and businesses that offer grants.
Grant Forward This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of grants, fellowships and scholarships for individuals and institutions.
Over 9,000 funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities can be located in this resource. Advanced and basic search features are offered as well as links to the websites of the funding organization. The database has an alert service that allows users to be notified of relevant funding. An expertise service allows individuals to create a profile by institution for others to view their activities. Please use a UNLV e-mail address to create a Grant Forward account.

Grants.gov
Clearinghouse of federal funding opportunities, including programs originating from the 2009 stimulus act.

Grants, Funding and Grant Writing - A Subject Guide This link opens in a new window
Provides links to general and education specific resources for grant writing help and funding sources.
Scholarships, Fellowships & Loans This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans (SFL) profiles over 8,900 scholarships, fellowships, loans, internships, work study, and other education-related financial aid available to high school students, undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, and professionals.

Preparing to Publish Creative Writing: Resources from the Rebel+ Workshop

Undergraduate journals

Black Mountain Institute recorded events

Let UNLV Libraries know what you need!

Model Contract

Reader Advisory

Annual directories

Planning and submitting creative work for publication

Refining and improving your writing

Literary Magazines

Grants and other funding

Locations

Contact