Skip to main content
RESEARCH, BORROW, REQUEST
SPACES & TECHNOLOGY
HELP & SUPPORT
ABOUT THE LIBRARIES
Metro Chamber Public Policy Series--Running for State & Local Office
Search this Guide
Metro Chamber Public Policy Series--Running for State & Local Office: Library Guides
Resources on running for state & local offices, budget process, the role of elected officials, the value of public service, and more.
Running for Office-State & Local Resources
Clark County Elections-Candidate Filing
Information on the official filing process for individuals running for office in Clark County, Nevada
Nevada Revised Statutes-Title 24-Elections/Chapter 93-Elections-General Provisions
NV Secretary of State: Filing For Non-Judicial Office
Nevada Secretary of State-Elections
Click on tabs to find extensive information on elections, voting, data & statistics, running for office, parties, and more,
Federal Election Commission
Information for candidates from a campaign's start to finish.
Importance of Public Service
Why Public Service is Important Now More Than Ever
On Leadership A great speech on why to go into public service
The Importance of Public Services Values
Essays on the Value of Public Service
Role of Elected Officials
Roles and Responsibilities of Local Government Leaders
Role of Elected of Elected Officials in Economic Development
The Role and Responsibilities of State Officers (Nevada Business)
Responsibilities of the Nevada Legislature and Term Limits
Election Administration at State & Local Levels
NV County Commissioner Handbook
State Legislature Information & Resources
Congress can learn a lot from state legislatures
NELIS (Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System)
The Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS) is a tool on the Legislative website
for viewing Bill Draft Requests (BDRs) and content of bills, committees, committee meetings,
budgets, and floor sessions.
State Legislative Policymaking in an Age of Political Polarization
Evidence-Based Policymaking Resource Center A collection of resources and promising state and county examples
Hating on Congress: An American Tradition
Communicating with Constituents, Lobbyists, and Media
A Legislator’s Guide: Communicating with Distressed Constituents
Lobbyists: Good or Bad?
Constituent Relations (National Democratic Institute)
How to Communicate With Your Constituency (Nonprofit Hub)
Lobbyists, Governments and Public Trust (OECD)
Working with the Media
Message Matters: Media Relations During a Crisis
Nevada Legislature & General State Legislature Information
Nevada Electronic Legislative Information System (NELIS)
Information about the current session as well as past sessions, search for your representatives, and more.
Nevada State Assembly
Nevada State Senate
Nevada Law Library
Find the Nevada Revised Statutes, Supreme Court decisions, and the Nevada Constitution.
National Council of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Association for state legislators that provides interesting reports and resources on a wide variety of issues (such as education, health, etc .)
Legislative Process (NCSL)
Glossary of Legislative Terms (NCSL)
Nevada LCB - Legislative Research
Nevada Boards and Comissions - a way for citizens to get involved
Dillon Rule vs. Home Rule
Federalism, Dillon Rule and Home Rule
Counties welcome home rule legislation (Nevada Appeal)
Nevada Association of Counties-Information on Home Rule (SB 29, 2015)
Where does public money come from?
Commentary: Where does the State of Nevada get its money? (Elko Daily Free Press commentary)
Nevada (Info from statedatalab.org)
Where States Get Their Money (Pewtrusts.org, FY2016)
City of Las Vegas Comprehensive Annual Financial Report (ending 6/30/16)
Financial Reports-Clark County, Nevada
NV Gaming Revenues, 1984-2018
State/Local Government Audits
State of Nevada: Biennial Report of the Legislative Auditor
State of Nevada: Legislative Counsel Bureau Audit Division Audit Report Summaries
State of Nevada Audit Reports, 2019
History of the Clark County Audit Department
Clark County Audit Reports
Single Audit Reports-Clark County-Comptrollers Office
Las Vegas City Auditor Reports
The City Auditor provides independent appraisals and audits of city functions and departments. This includes audit reports and reporting to the city’s Audit Oversight Committee.
State of NV Dept of Taxation-List of Publications
Includes revenue reports, press releases, statistics, etc.
Clark County Comptrollers Office-Comprehensive Annual Financial Reports
Includes detailed reports on revenue, capital project funds, statistics, etc.
State/Local Budget Process
State Budget Procedures-National Council of State Legislatures
The Local Government Annual Budget Process-International City/County Management Association
Building State Budgets: Effective Process and Practice-TaxPolicyCenter.org
National Association of State Budget Officers (NASBO)
NASBO is the professional membership organization for state budget and finance officers.
Nevada State Budget
State of NV-Dept of Taxation-Local Government Finance Forms
The Role and Responsibilities of State Officers (Nevada Business)
Clark County-Budget & Financial Planning
Budget & Financial Planning websites includes links & information on Clark County Budget, expenditures, property taxes, capital improvement plans, etc.
Clark County Budget: Fiscal Year 2018-2019 Final (Full document)
City of Las Vegas Budgets
Arlington and Alexandria split in the 1870s. Could Amazon bring them together?
Current Public Policy Trends/Innovations/City Issues
10 Innovative Policies That Every City Should Consider
Top 10 Urban Innovations (Smart City Hub)
Top ten urban innovations - World Economic Forum
Five Trends Influencing the Future of Our Cities (Natl Geographic)
Trends in Smart City Development (Natl League of Cities)
Ten Most Important Issues Facing Cities, According to Their Mayors
From Smart City To Future City: The 21st-Century Urbanization Challenge
The Mayoral Balancing Act
Governing in a Cynical Age
Where Nonprofits Are Most Prevalent in America
Science & Policy
Understanding Christians’ climate views can lead to better conversations about the environment (by Emma Frances Bloomfield)
Communicating science to policymakers: six strategies for success (Nature)
Help to shape policy with your science (Nature)
Can scientists and policy makers work together?
Urban Affairs Librarian
Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
Couple & Family Therapy
Crisis & Emergency Management
Journalism & Media Studies
Oct 9, 2019 10:00 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
4505 South Maryland Pkwy.
Las Vegas, Nevada 89154-7001
Library Site >
Future Library Hours
Book 'n Bean Hours
Phone: (702) 895-2111
All Social Media
Librarians by Subject
© University of Nevada Las Vegas