LibGuides: PBH 165: Personal Health Across the Lifespan: PBH 165: Personal Health Across the Lifespan

Which database should you use?

Selecting a database or internet resource depends on your purpose. Below are a few factors to consider:

Does your assignment require peer-reviewed articles?
Do you need to focus on a public health only?
Or a general health related topic?
Would you like to use a database that creates an automatic citation in the citation style required for your assignment?
Do you want to email your search results to yourself?

I can help you select a resource that best suits your needs. Click the link under my avatar to make an appointment!

Introductory Health Sciences Resources

Introductory Health Sciences Databases

RESEARCH ARTICLE DATABASES:

PLEASE NOTE: The list of searchable databases below is introductory to the health sciences. Most of the journal articles will be available to you in full-text.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1985-present
An index to about 850 journals in health sciences.
Nursing and allied health coverage is especially strong. Also includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. Linked full text.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. If your Google Scholar preferences are set, it will provide full-text access to many UNLV scholarly journals.
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
Health and medical dictionaries in Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes health and medical dictionaries contain basic and specialized health sciences information.
Includes Collins Dictionary of Medicine, Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations, Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary, Mosby's Dental Dictionary, Mosby's Dictionary of Complementary and Alternative Medicine, Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary, Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary and more.

How to find articles

APA Style Guide Help

Dudley Knox Library APA Guide
This is my usual go to resource for APA assistance.
Basics of APA Style Free Tutorial from the American Psychological Association
This tutorial is useful if you have no previous experience with APA Style.

PBH 165: Personal Health Across the Lifespan

Xan Goodman, Nursing, Integrated Health Sciences & Public Health Librarian