LibGuides: Honors 110 Holland : Library Guides

Your assignment

You will be doing research on a historical disaster from a particular humanities perspective: art, literature, history, philosophy, music, etc.

You will be presenting this research in two projects:

A collaborative slide presentation as a group of four. Each group member will research the disaster from a different humanities perspective. Each group member will contribute four sources to the presentation. All sources should be reliable (see Dr. Holland's powerpoint on reliable sources), but they can be either popular or scholarly.
A research paper of four to five pages, supported by six to eight sources.

If you found a source that seems promising, but you're not sure if it meets the criteria, feel free to consult with Mark or Dr. Holland.

Teaching and Learning Librarian

Mark Lenker

Email Me

Contact:

4505 South Maryland Pkwy.
Box 457001
Las Vegas, Nevada
89154-7001
mark.lenker@unlv.edu

702-895-2248

Subjects: General Education Core (GSC)

Problems with online access?

Off-Campus Access to Library Materials
Tips for using our resources from off campus.

Consult with Mark the Librarian

Working with students on their research is by far the best part of my job. We have several options for working together:

Email me at mark.lenker@unlv.edu.
We can talk over the phone (email me first, and I'll share my contact info).
UNLV provides nice Webex conferencing software, which is basically like Facetime or Skype but with more options for sharing information. We can also chat through Google Hangouts. Use the "schedule appointment" button on the left to find a time that works for you, and I will be in touch to make arrangements for our web meeting.

For more options for assistance, see http://ask.library.unlv.edu/.

Starting Points

To decide which disaster you want to write about and to get an overview, take a look at these resources:

Natural Disasters: a Reference Handbook by David E. Newton
ISBN: 9781440867620
Publication Date: 2019-06-14
This book provides a detailed introduction to natural disasters and the ways in which they have had and continue to have, profound effects on human society. * Provides readers with a sound background in the science and technology of major natural disasters, such as earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and forest fires * Traces the development of human understanding of the causes and nature of such events * Discusses the ways in which natural events such as changing weather patterns may interact with human decisions and actions that lead to complex forms of disaster * Provides background on the specific contributions of individuals and organizations within the field that have yielded our mature understanding of the nature and impact of natural disaster * Suggests a host of practical resources to use in an extended study of the topic

Natural Disasters: A Reference Handbook by Newton is a great place to find a disaster to write about or to get some background on the disaster you have chosen. The "Background" and "Chronology" chapters provide profiles of disasters throughout history. To use this e-book, the system will make you check it out for a one-day loan. That's ok -- in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the publisher has opened up access to its ebooks. Several people should be able to access it at once, but if that's not the case, please let Mark know.

Credo General Reference
This is a database of specialized encyclopedias. It gives several options for building your background on the disasters you are writing about. At the end of each entry, there is typically a list of recommended resources. These can be great starting points for learning more.

Finding Articles

Finding Books (including E-books)

Need images? Check out ARTstor

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To search for images, click "ARTstor Digital Library" in the top right corner of the landing page.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.

Questions about citing your sources?

University Libraries citations and bibliographies resources.

Also, see the Modern Languages Association's Guide to Citing Generative AI (like Chat-GPT).

For more on using AI in research, see this guide to "Using Generative AI for Research" from USC Libraries.

Honors 110 Holland : Library Guides