LibGuides: Honors 100 Doyle: Library Guides

Teaching and Learning Librarian

Mark Lenker

Email Me

Contact:

4505 South Maryland Pkwy.
Box 457001
Las Vegas, Nevada
89154-7001
mark.lenker@unlv.edu

702-895-2248

Subjects: General Education Core (GSC)

Where do all of these databases come from?

QuickSearch is the search box centrally featured on the Libraries home page. The other databases can be found under Databases A to Z -- the link is just below the QuickSearch search box.

To find books, use the QuickSearch search box on the Library Homepage

QuickSearch on Library Home Page

For scholarly journal articles, use QuickSearch on the Library Home Page, or try one of these specialized databases

ABI/Inform
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Art Full Text
Art, architecture, photography, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, film, museology are all covered. Limited to 12 simultaneous users.

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.
SportDISCUS with Full Text
Journal articles and more about all aspects of sports, physical education and sports medicine. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Suggestion for finding popular sources, especially newspapers

US Newsstream
A convenient database for finding newspapers. Use the date limiter to narrow to recent information. Use the Publication Title filter to limit to prominent titles.

Scenario 1 -- Search Terms: Discuss with a partner. We'll talk more as a class.

After several intense sets of frog squats, tactical lunges, and divebomber pushups, Clarence decides that he wants to research the bodybuilding community for his Honors 100 paper.

Clarence wants to find a range of information on the topic, so he goes to QuickSearch on the Library Home Page and types What are the characteristics of the bodybuilding subculture? He gets zero results.

What did Clarence do wrong? What would be a more productive set of search terms?

Scenario 2: Popular or Scholarly? Discuss with a partner. We'll talk more as a class.

Professor Doyle has asked for scholarly sources for the annotated bibliography. Help Clarence decide which of these two sources is scholarly. Both sources come from UNLV Libraries databases.

Source A (be sure to examine a PDF version)

Source B (be sure to examine a PDF version)

Identify three factors that make one scholarly and the other not scholarly.

Scenario 3: Known-item searching. Discuss with a partner. We will talk more about this in class.

Clarence found some very promising sources in the bibliography at the end of a journal article. Help him track these sources down. If the source is a book, note the call number and location. If the source is an article, find the full text in pdf.

Thompson, J. Kevin, and Guy Carfi. The Muscular Ideal : Psychological, Social, and Medical Perspectives. APA, 2007.

Petrocelli, M. 2008. Getting Huge, Getting Ripped. Journal of Drug Issues, 38, 1187-1206.

Scenario Responses

responses

Honors 100 Doyle: Library Guides