It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will link to resources for the first year seminar course HON 100.
In your HON 100 course you will be researching a subculture or community that interests you in order to write a 10-12 page paper. You should have at least six credible sources that include both primary and secondary sources. The secondary sources will provide information for your historical background, to help explain the social context, and to provide analysis.
This searches library materials (books, movies, newspapers, etc) plus hundreds of databases. The database is so big that you will need to search for your community AND one of the following words: culture, ethnography, community, etc.
Basic database hosted by EBSCO that is smaller than QuickSearch but less specialized than the databases below. You may have to search for your community AND one of the following words: culture, ethnography, community, etc.
This history database hosted by EBSCO has scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations. This database is only useful if your community is located in America or Canada. It covers pre-history up through the present.
This anthropology database hosted by EBSCO has scholarly journal articles, books, and dissertations. This database can be very helpful depending on whether anthropologists have started to study your community.