LibGuides: German: Getting Started

German-English Dictionary

Collins German Dictionary
Publication Date: 2007

Language Learning Resources

Language Resource Center

Looking for Rosetta Stone, videos or other programs to learn a language? Try the Language Resource Center, FDH 240!

ELC Catalog
List of language learning resources available through the Language Resource Center in FDH 240. Excel spreadsheet.

humanities librarian

Priscilla Finley, humanities librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Lied Library LLB1187

(702) 895-2132

Subjects: English, Film Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Theater Arts, World Languages and Cultures

Magazines and Journals

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the Region limit to limit your search to newspapers from Germany, a particular region of Germany, or another German-speaking country. Alternately, you can use the Language limit to search German language sources from around the world.
This database combines over 30,000 sources from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.

Access World News: Germany
Search German newspaper articles and press releases from the last 10 years.

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 titles from the U.S. and 100 countries in 60 languages. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings.
Users may access the database on desktop computer, tablet and smartphone. An archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Works of major German authors spanning eleven centuries including historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts.
Part of the ProQuest One Literature combined search portal.

Books in Lied Library

Deutsche Grammatik in Kontakt by Arne Ziegler (Editor); Klaus-Michael Köpcke (Editor)
ISBN: 9783110367171
Publication Date: 2015
Die Beiträge des Bandes diskutieren das Thema Deutsch als Zweitsprache - ein Thema, das fachdidaktischwie bildungspolitischoft bemüht wird.Dennoch bleiben Fragen zumErwerb grammatischer Strukturen und zu Besonderheiten und Unterschieden des Zweitspracherwerbs im Vergleich zum Erstspracherwerbweiterhin offen.AktuelleBefunde werdenin diesem Bandauf ihre Relevanz für einen Grammatikunterricht in multilingualen Zusammenhängen überprüft.
German Stories of Crime and Evil from the 18th Century to the Present / Deutsche Geschichten Von Verbrechen und Bösem Vom 18. Jahrhundert Bis Zur Gegenwart by M. Charlotte Wolf, (Translator)
ISBN: 9780486806341
Publication Date: 2015
Ideal for students of German as well as crime story enthusiasts, this dual-language edition contains ten short stories. Selections range from eighteenth- and nineteenth-century classics by Friedrich Schiller ("Der Verbrecher aus verlorener Ehre"/"The Criminal of Lost Honor") and Willibald Alexis ("Das Gelöbnis der drei Diebe"/"The Pledge of the Three Thieves") to tales by such popular contemporary authors as Iris Klockmann ("Der Kuss des Todes"/"The Kiss of Death") and Karin Holz ("Der letzte Stich"/"The Last Trick"). Appropriate for intermediate-level students of German, this volume is equally suited to classroom use and independent study. New English translations appear on pages facing the original German text. The editor provides an overview of German crime fiction in addition to concise introductions to each story.
German Picture Dictionary by Passport Books Staff (Editor); Marlene Goodman (Illustrator)
Call Number: UNLV Oversize, 4th Floor PF3628 .L48x 1993
ISBN: 0844221678
Publication Date: 2003
Pictures labeled in English and German are grouped in such familiar categories as Our Classroom, Our House, The Four Seasons, Colors, Numbers, and A Map of the World.

German

German-English Dictionary

Language Learning Resources

humanities librarian

Magazines and Journals

Books in Lied Library

Locations

Contact