Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UNLV Logo

Free Clinical Resources

Journal Resources

BMC Journals for Medicine & Public Health

  • BMC has approximately 300 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Directory of Open Access Journals for Medicine

  • Over 3200 indexed open access medical journals. The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is an independent database containing over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Free Medical Journals

  • The Free Medical Journals promotes free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet. The site ranks the top medical journals based on the Free Medical Journal Impact and currently lists over 5,000 journals.

Highwire Journals

  • An alphabetical list of Highwire-published journals that offer some version of open access. This listing includes a status that indicates whether the journal provides free issues or is entirely open access.

Hindawi Open Access Journals for Medicine

  • One of the largest open access publishers covering biological sciences, medicine, case reports, physical sciences, social sciences and education, mathematics, engineering and computer sciences.

Pre-Print Servers & Journal Aggregators

What are preprint servers?

  • Preprint servers provide a place to store and distribute unpublished manuscripts in a variety of disciplines. Oftentimes, you will find up and coming research in preprint servers, however, be cautious of any findings as these manuscripts have not yet undergone the peer-review process.

How should I approach information found in preprints?

  • Be cautious of findings and according to medRxiv,org, consider them as "preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information."

medRxiv

  • medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences. 

medRxiv for COVID-19 Publications

  • An archive of COVID-19 manuscripts from both medRxiv and BioRxiv.

ACCESSSS

  • ACCESSSS is a service to help provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications). ACCESSSS also provides email alerts to newly published evidence in the user’s chosen area(s) of training/interest.

NEJM Journal Watch

  • NEJM Journal Watch is used by practicing clinicians to stay informed and current in their fields. The most important research, medical news, drug information, public health alerts, and guidelines across 12 specialties are summarized and put into perspective by our team of physician editors who curate and summarize the most important research available from over 250 medical journals, as well as other sources of medical news.

Evidence Alerts

  • EvidenceAlerts is an Internet service that notifies physicians and researchers about newly-published clinical studies. Researchers at the McMaster Health Information Unit find the highest quality studies, reviews, and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines from 127 premier clinical journals and these articles are rated by practicing physicians for clinical relevance and interest. Alerts are curated to the individual's own clinical interests.

 

Databases

PubMed Central

  • PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection.

COVID-19: Global literature on coronavirus disease

  • WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.

LitCovid

  • LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing a central access to 143654 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. 
© University of Nevada Las Vegas