LibGuides: Film 450 (Eden) fall 2024: Nevada, Hoover Dam, 1920s-1940s

Photograph Collections

Special Collections & Archives has literally hundreds of images of Hoover Dam and Black Canyon, both before, during, and after construction.

Hoover Dam (Ariz. and Nev.)
Subject search in catalog (will include works published when the dam was called Boulder Dam)
Government documents - Hoover Dam
Federal documents related to the dam

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.

Building Hoover Dam by Andrew J. Dunar; Dennis Mcbride
Call Number: TC557.5.H6 D86 2001
ISBN: 0874174899
Publication Date: 2001-05-01

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1867-
Harper's Bazaar magazine shows changes in American fashion, culture and society.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Researching fashion and culture, including specific garments, accessories or brands.
- Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.
- Dates covered: 1892-present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1887-2005
North American women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1910-
Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily (WWD), the leading fashion-industry trade paper.

Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1850-1950
Primary sources like catalogs, price lists, and brochures reflecting the history of consumer advertising and marketing and life and leisure in America. Includes department store catalogs, cosmetic advertisements, real estate brochures and much more.
Part of the American Consumer Culture combined search portal.
The Transformation of Shopping: Department Stores, Social Change and Consumerism 1830-1994 This link opens in a new window
Dates covered: 1830-1994
Primary sources illustrating the sociocultural history of department stores from the mid-19th through late 20th centuries. Contains company archives, union records, trade journals, advertisements, catalogs, business to business publications, business to consumer publications, and more.
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1749-1900
Printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems and other printed items never intended to last.

Strawbridge & Clothier Quarterly (1883)
first mail order clothing catalog
Sears Roebuck (1897)
Department store catalogs from Internet Archive
COPA Commercial Patterns Archive
The Commercial Pattern Archive database, CoPA, provides a unique tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing from 1868 to 2000. There are several collections from the States, Canada and the UK represented in the database which functions like a Union Catalog of pattern collections.
more...less...
No account needed to search

Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.

San Francisco Chronicle, 1865-current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1865-1984, 1985-current
Full page images of the daily San Francisco Chronicle, Northern California's largest circulation newspaper, through 1984. Text of articles only after 1985.
Nevada Newspapers on Microfilm at UNLV Libraries This link opens in a new window
Use this tool to find what Nevada newspapers are available in the University Libraries on microfilm.
Search for newspapers by city, title and county. The Nevada Newspaper listing does not index the contents of individual newspapers. Ask for assistance at the Research & Information Desk for help using microform newspaper collections.

Nevada Newspaper Indexes
List of all Nevada newspaper indexes available in museums and libraries throughout the state.