Is there a specific item you want, but our library doesn't have it? Request it for free with Interlibrary Loan. We will borrow the item from another library and let you know when it arrives.
Build your background by reading broadly about your object.
Note: These are not the types of sources that Dr. Clemente has asked you to cite, but building your background with these sources can make your later searches more effective.
Good for: Exploring a wide range of scholarly topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals, ebooks, art images and primary source collections
Good for: Researching humanities and social sciences topics.
Contains: Scholarly journals and e-books.
Dates covered: 1995-present.
As you read books and articles about your object, look for the primary sources that the authors refer to: historical magazines and newspapers, letters, diaries, etc. If you see something that looks promising for your project, ask Mark for help tracking it down.
We also have several databases that give you access to primary sources related to fashion. Here are some best bets.
Good for: Searching historical product catalogs and exploring advertising and marketing campaigns.
Contains: Archival records of ad agencies, marketing campaigns and catalogs.
Dates covered: 1850-1990s.
Good for: Searching multiple American history primary source collections.
Contains: Archival collections from Adam Matthew Publishers.
Dates covered: 1493-1975.
Good for: Exploring contemporary fashion history and clothing designers.
Contains: Photos, essays, and videos.
Dates covered: 1980-present.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in Chicago and the world.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1849-2015.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about news and events in California, particularly the entertainment industry.
Contains: Newspaper articles.
Dates covered: 1881-2016.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles about national and international news and events.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1851-2021.
Good for: Exploring personal narratives of immigrants to the U.S. or Canada.
Contains: Letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories.
Dates covered: 1840-present.
Good for: Exploring the lives and experiences of North American women.
Contains: Diaries, journals, and letters.
Dates covered: 1770-1950.
Good for: Studying popular culture in the US and Britain through music and alternative publications.
Contains: Primary sources.
Dates covered: 1950-1975.
Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
Dates covered: 1779-1930.
Good for: Researching fashion and culture.
Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.
Dates covered: 1892-present.
Good for: Searching North American women's magazines and their historical context.
Contains: Women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Dates covered: 1887-2005.
Good for: Studying fashion industry history and trends.
Contains: Trade publication Women’s Wear Daily.
Dates covered: 1910-present.
