LibGuides: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Finding Articles & Databases

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

Melissa Bowles-Terry

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

melissa.bowles-terry@unlv.edu

702-895-2121

Subjects: Chemistry & Biochemistry, Geoscience, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, Science

Use the below databases to search the chemistry and biochemistry literature. Read the database description to find ones that meet your information need. Be curious, explore, and dive in!

CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY LITERATURE DATABASES

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1849-
First-time users must register here to access the site.
Index to scholarly chemistry literature and database of chemical information searchable by chemical name or structure.
Use the search options at the top of the page to search for references, chemicals, or reactions. Searching for chemicals and reactions can be achieved by drawing them with the Structure Editor or Reaction Editor, respectively.
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to more than 177,000 known inorganic chemical crystal structures, synthesis data, and related literature. Searchable by chemical name, mineral name, and chemical formula and other characteristics, as well as article title or author.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1990-
Web of Science is a platform for Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Index, Journal Citation Reports, Biological Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Inspec.
Help?
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.

CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY REFERENCE RESOURCES

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference work containing tables of information on chemical properties, constants, conversion factors, and other chemistry- and physics-related topics.
Alternate name: Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Laboratory protocols (procedures and techniques) in biology, medicine and biochemistry.
Update frequency: Annually
Scope: International
Springer Protocols is a searchable database of laboratory protocols. Links to lists of protocols within discipline areas--like bioinformatics or plant sciences--are also available.

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Melissa Bowles-Terry, Science Librarian

CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY LITERATURE DATABASES

CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY REFERENCE RESOURCES

Locations

Contact