JOUR 324: Health Media (Easter): Library Guides

• Family Doctor 

  • 

  Site is sponsored by the American Academy of Family Physicians.
• MedlinePlus 

  • 

  MedlinePlus is a database created and maintained by the National Library of Medicine which is a part of the National Institutes of Health.
• Aim for a Healthy Weight : 
• National Institutes of Health website with key recommendations on maintaining a healthy weight.

• Drug Information Portal - U.S. National Library of Medicine - Quick Access to Quality Drug Information 

  • 

  This site is a true portal: search for a prescription, over-the-counter, herbal, or nutraceutical name and the site will provide links to additional information from a variety of United States-government-produced websites. Includes links to research articles, drug monographs, labels, and more. Can also be searched by drug category.
• Drugs.com | Prescription Drugs - Information, Interactions & Side Effects 

  • 

  This commercial site provides professional-level and consumer-level information on prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products. Search or browse by drug name, drug class name, or conditions. Includes pill identifier, interactions checker, personal medication records and information in Spanish. Sources of information include American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information (AHFS DI), United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Micromedex, and MedFacts.
• Pill Identification - WebMD 

  • 

  Identify prescription and over-the-counter drugs available in the United States by inputting shape, color or imprint. Includes pictures. While the currency of this information cannot be found, it is a good source for identifying pills for the general public, who do not usually have access to pricey subscriptions with similar content.

• Health Statistics -- Southern Nevada Health District
• Kaiser State Health Facts
• Nevada KIDS COUNT

  Data about the children and youth of Nevada.
• Suicide Prevention Resource Center

  See the "States and Communities" section for information about Nevada and other states.

• Southern Nevada Health District Statistics
• CDC: NV Health Facts
• Health Care in NV-Rankings & Statistics

• American Hospital Directory

  The American Hospital Directory provides data and statistics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide.
• Fast Facts on US Hospitals

  The American Hospital Association conducts an annual survey of hospitals in the United States.
• The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care-Data by Hospital

  Hospital-specific data from the Dartmouth Atlas project reflect the treatment of Medicare patients with serious chronic illnesses who were in their last two years of life.
• Data.Medicare.Gov

  Access to data-sets regarding hospitals, nursing homes, dialysis facilities, and home health agencies. Compiled by the Center for Medicaid and Medicare Services.
• Medicare.Gov Nursing Home Compare

  Nursing Home Compare has detailed information about every Medicare and Medicaid-certified nursing home in the country.

CDC Women's Health Topics offers the latest news, research reports, statistics, and A to Z health topics about women’s health issues.

womenshealth.gov is published by the Department of Health and Human Services Office and provides articles as well as information on topics, such as pregnancy, women with disabilities, and body image.

National Women's Health Resource Center offers information about a variety of women’s health topics, the latest news, apps, blogs, and health management tools.

World Health Organization, Department of Gender, Women and Health addresses disparities in women’s health around the world.

GirlsHealth.gov gives adolescent girls reliable, current health information and motivates girls to choose healthy behaviors. Created by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ (HHS)

Food and Drug Administration Information for Women's Health offers tools, videos, safe medication programs, and other educational resources in English and Spanish.

Healthfinder.gov Women's Health offers A to Z health topics, National Health Observances, health news, conferences, and health care reform updates.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine: CAM and Women's Health provides resources and clinical trial information about alternative therapies used to treat women’s health issues, such as menopause, osteoarthritis, and urinary tract infections.

• CDC: Men's Health: Resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on men's health issues
• healthfinder.gov: Men's Health

  Maintained by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site offers a variety of resources on men's health issues
• Mayo Clinic: Men's Health Center

  The Mayo Clinic offers resources on men's health concerns
• MEDLINEplus: Men's Health Topics

  Medlineplus, a health information site maintained by the National Library of Medicine, provides resources on men's health issues

• Administration on Aging (Dept. of Health & Human Services)
  This site gives information health care reform, elder rights protection, emergency preparedness for the elderly, aging statistics, home and community-based services.
• Alzheimer's Association: Provides information and research on caring for individuals stricken with Alzheimer’s disease and dementia.
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Healthy Aging: This site is layered with information on how to create and maintain healthy living habits for seniors.
• ​​Medicare.gov: This is the official US government site for people with Medicare. It contains information on Medicare health plans, drug benefits, links to state information, and long term care options.
• Medline Plus - Senior's Health
  From the National Library of Medicine, and consumer-oriented Web site with online tutorials on topics related to aging.
• National Institute on Aging (U.S. National Institutes of Health): This site provides information on medications, supplements, conditions, healthy aging, care-giving, clinical trials and sponsored research. Numerous resources and publications are listed, with some of the material offered in Spanish language version.​

• Children's Page: MedlinePlus

  A great collection of links, interactive tools and games geared to educate kids about anatomy, health, nutrition and safety.
• BAM: Body and Mind

  An interactive kid-friendly site created by the Centers for Disease Control with information on health and fitness.
• KidsHealth

  Information for kids, parents and teens on physical, emotional and behavioral issues presented in easy to understand, non-technical language.
• Healthy Children.org: Website for parents provided by the American Academy of Pediatrics
• Patient education online from American Academy of Pediatrics

  American Academy of Pediatrics website provides information for consumers on child development, health and diseases, parenting and child safety.
• American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry - Resources for Families

  This site provides consumer friendly patient education with definitions, FAQs, expert interviews, and Facts for Families relevant to each disorder.

• Teens' Page: MedlinePlus

  Information for teens on health and safety.
• TeensHealth - from KidsHealth

  Non-profit Nemours foundation provides accurate, easy to read information to teens on health, emotions and life.
• FamilyDoctor.org - For Teens

  Website of the American Academy of Family Physicians with info on topics relevant to teenagers.
• girlshealth.gov

  Website targeted to girls 10-16, that provides relevant and reliable information on health topics and relationship issues to promote healthy, positive behaviors.
• NIDA for Teens - National Institute on Drug Abuse: NIDA created this site on drug abuse with the help of teens so the fact-based content is geared toward their concerns.