Cite Your Sources (APA Help) - HMD 305 - Managing Hospitality Organizational Behaviors - LibGuides at University of Nevada, Las Vegas

APA Citation Help Guide

Welcome to the APA Style Help Guide!

This guide contains quick guide links and tools to help readers format their reference lists and in-text citations in APA 7th edition.

For additional assistance, please visit the writing center at this link - https://writingcenter.unlv.edu/.

Background photo created by freepik - www.freepik.com

Help Guides

American Psychological Association Resources

APA Reference Examples
More than 100 reference examples and their corresponding in-text citations are presented in the seventh edition Publication Manual. Examples of the most common works that writers cite are provided on this page; additional examples are available in the Publication Manual.
Database Information in References
7th edition - Do not include database information for works obtained from most academic research databases or platforms because works in these resources are widely available. This includes journal articles, books, and book chapters from academic research databases.
APA Style 7th - Quick Guide
APA 7th Style In-Text Citation Guide
APA Style - Database Information in References How to cite databases in a reference list
APA Style Common Reference Examples Guide [PDF] Reference examples for the seventh edition of the Publication Manual, including journal articles, magazine sections, newsletter articles, blog posts, reports, book chapters, and more.
APA Style DOIs and URLs
APA Style - Reference Examples
APA Style Table Setup
Sample APA Tables
APA - Numbers & Statistics Numbers and Statistics Quick Guide
Journal Article Reference Checklist This checklist, based on Chapter 9 of the Publication Manual and the Concise Guide, includes general guidelines for creating APA Style references for journal articles and correctly formatting the four reference elements: author, date, title, and source (including the journal name, volume number, issue number, page range, and DOI or URL). The checklist also includes reference examples and links to more detailed guidelines for cases not covered in the checklist.
APA Handouts
APA Tutorials and Webinars

Student Paper Set-up - APA 7th Edition

UNLV Writing Center Resources

How to cite industry and market reports

Additional Resources

Purdue OWL - APA Style

APA Style Blog

Quick Citation Tools

ZoteroBib
OWL Purdue
UNLV Libraries - Quick Search Tutorial Tutorial about the quick citation features within the UNLV Libraries online catalog

Formatting and Organizing Software

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

RefWorks Video Tutorials

RefWorks User Quick Guide

Mendeley This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliography manager that saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This bibliography manager lets you quickly link to online articles, organize your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
On Oct 31, 2024, UNLV Institutional Edition accounts will be downgraded to 2 GB of free storage and will encounter limits on the number of shared groups they can create. See the Mendeley guide for more information.

Mendeley Help Guides
Zotero
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you
collect, organize, cite, and share research.
Zotero Quick Start Guide

HMD 305 - Managing Hospitality Organizational Behaviors: Cite Your Sources (APA Help)