LibGuides: HIST 462, French Revolution (Brown): Secondary Sources

Books and Journal Articles

Academic history journals
Books

Secondary sources. Journal articles written by historians published in scholarly journals.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.

Journals that specialize in French history

French Historical Studies (journal)
Browse tables of contents by year or use the Search within this publication link to find articles in this journal.
French History
Journal from Oxford University Press.

UNLV Library Quick Search
Use the Books limiter to see ebook and print book results. Searches only book descriptions, not the text within the books.
QuickSearch: subject contains France -- History -- Revolution, 1789-1799

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.

Search Books to Borrow in Internet Archive
1 hour loan available for most books (sign up for a free account for access)

A field of honor: writers, court culture and public theater in French literary life from Racine to the Revolution. by Brown, Gregory S.
Call Number: Online or UNLV Special Collections PQ538 .B76 2002
ISBN: 0231124600
Related archival documents and images.

Book reviews

UNLV's Library Quick Search is an excellent place to look for reviews of a book - try putting the title in quotation marks and adding the author's last name.

"queen of fashion" weber

You can use the Reviews filter on the right for book reviews in all publications or use the Peer-Reviewed Journals filter for reviews for academic audiences.

H-Net online reviews
Reviews of books and web projects in history and other humanities disciplines

Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Popular reviews of fiction and nonfiction books
Provides citations and excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. To be indexed in Book Review Digest, a book must have been published or distributed in the United States or Canada. A work of nonfiction must have received reviews in two or more of the periodicals on the Book Review Digest selection list. A work of fiction must have received reviews in at least three of the periodicals. Reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are excluded.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in academic history journals. (Does not include works about US and Canada)
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.

Like This or Die: The fate of the book review in the age of the algorithm
April 2019 Harper's article by Christian Lorentzen

HIST 462, French Revolution (Brown): Secondary Sources

Books and Journal Articles

Book reviews

Locations

Contact