It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This report was provided by the World Commission on Environment and Development to the United Nations in 1987. Also known as The Brundtland Report after the Commission Chairperson, Gro Harlem Brundtland. It outlines an early philosophy and approach to sustainable design.
"The Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure (ISI) is the hub of a unique community of organizations and individuals involved in the planning, design, construction, and maintenance of infrastructure. Based in Washington, DC, our nonprofit 501 (c) (3) organization was created for a single purpose: to develop and maintain a sustainability rating system for all civil infrastructure. To further our mission, we provide Envision at no cost to the infrastructure community. We train individuals in its use, after which they can earn the ENV SP credential, and we also offer a project verification and award program."
The second edition of this authoritative textbook equips students with the tools they will need to tackle the challenges of sustainable building design and engineering. The book looks at how to design, engineer and monitor energy efficient buildings, how to adapt buildings to climate change, and how to make buildings healthy, comfortable and secure. New material for this edition includes sections on environmental masterplanning, renewable technologies, retrofitting, passive house design, thermal comfort and indoor air quality. With chapters and case studies from a range of international, interdisciplinary authors, the book is essential reading for students and professionals in building engineering, environmental design, construction and architecture.
This is an archived version of the resource, managed by the Open EI community. The U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy provided this 2011 database of energy consumption information for both commercial and residential building types. Includes standards, codes and laws related to energy consumption.
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide
dataZoa allows you to access and monitor over 3 billion dynamic data series from public sites and other dataZoa publishers. You can get data on economics, demographics, energy, finance, health and more from sites such as the U.S. Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Yahoo Finance, the National Center for Education Statistics, and more.
To use dataZoa you must create a personal account from a UNLV e-mail address to begin.
First time users must register with their UNLV email address. The account will need to be renewed each June.
MyResearcher is a data-tracking and information reporting tool created by Applied Analysis with Las Vegas and Clark County area statistics as well as detailed gaming statistics from across the United States..
MyResearcher allows users to search millions of economic, fiscal, social and environmental metrics, tracking and trending the ones that matter most to them. MyResearcher has Las Vegas and Clark County area statistics as well as detailed gaming statistics from across the United States.
The US Department of Transportation, Bureau of Transportation Statistics, provides a database of research, transportation data, and other products called ROSA P (Repository and Open Science Access Portal).
Environmental Costs and Environmental Impact Statements/Assessments
A 2008 report about how Environmental Impact Statement cost estimates for environmental costs of project could be improved. Produced for American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) Standing Committee on the Environment, through the U. S. National Cooperative Highway Research Program, Transportation Research Board.
An interactive map for project planners to view centralized datasets of potential environmental concerns. Does not provide a comprehensive list of environmental concerns to address in the NEPA process.
The Libraries' Special Collections department collects the history of UNLV, and has a collection of materials from past Solar Decathlon competitions. This "finding aid" document describes the materials in this collection.