LibGuides: JOUR 435: Mass Communication Research Methods (Kilker): Data Sources for Jounalism

Finding Data & Statistics on Google

Searching on Google is a great place to begin for looking for statistics. In order to obtain official and reliable data, you can limit your sources to government websites by typing site:.gov after your keywords.

Examples:
crime statistics site:.gov
recycling data site:.gov

UNLV Libraries - Data & Statistics Resource Guide

UNLV Libraries - Data & Statistics Resource Guide
Includes links to databases, government & nonprofit statistical sources, data by subject, and more.

UNLV Libraries Databases Focusing on Data

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data.
Through a single platform, users can search and browse 25 billion data points in over 4.3 billion datasets sourced from over 75 authoritative government and private sources. The platform’s powerful functionality allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without requiring additional software programs. Multiple export options are provided. For more information on specific datasets and how to use Data-Planet, visit the Data-Planet LibGuide
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an organization of member institutions working together to: acquire and preserve social science data; provide open and equitable access to these data; and promote effective data management.
Users must have an account with ICPSR to download datasets.

To register, you must be affiliated with UNLV, which is a member institution of ICPSR, and you must access the site from a recognized UNLV IP address.

Register for an account from off campus (you will be prompted to login with your ACE account or activated RebelCard barcode and PIN).
SAGE Local & State Stats
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Local & State Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet
SAGE Business Stats
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Stats has been retired. Content has been migrated to DataPlanet

Government and .Org Data Web Resources

US Census Bureau
Includes data about people, business and economy.
American FactFinder
The Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing recent Census data. Data from the 2000 and 2010 Census, economic censuses since 2002, and the American Community Survey are also available here.
USA.gov - Data & Statistics
Features a list of data resources from Federal government agencies. Includes such topics as, business, economics, defense, international relations, environment, energy, agriculture, family, geospatial data, health, nutrition, jobs and education, public safety, science, technology, transportation, and recreation.
Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.
re3data.org
The REgistry of REsearch Data REpositories is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data.

Nevada, Clark County, Las Vegas, Henderson, North Las Vegas Data Resources

City of Las Vegas Open Data
NV State Quick Facts - US Census Bureau
NV Statistics & Censuses from NV State Library & Archives
Nevada Historical Census (hosted by University of Nevada, Reno)
This database has six different options for search interfaces, in addition to a general search bar: general information; geographic location; family & relationship; place of birth; nationality & citizenship; health; and work & economics. Each interface allows for searching by different criteria.
Nevada Economy at a Glance
UNLV: Center for Business & Economic Research
US Census Bureau-Quick Facts-North Las Vegas
US Census Bureau - Quick Facts - Henderson, NV
Southern Nevada Homeless Census
Clark County Quick Facts US Census
RAND State Statistics--Nevada
Clark County School District Accountability Reports
CCSD Fast Facts 2016-17
CCSD Budget Statistics
CCSD Statistical Data
The statistical data sub-section provides an analytical perspective of the District in different
areas including; county population, tax levies, enrollment, schools, graduation rates,
revenues, and expenditures.
Clark County Disease Statistics by Month
Disease Statistics, Surveillance & Reports--Southern NV Health District
Las Vegas Quick Facts - US Census

Example: Halloween Statistics

Your editor has asked you to write a Halloween feature. Where will you find some interesting national data/statistics on the holiday & other info about Halloween-related items or activities?

Facts for Features: Halloween: Oct. 31, 2017 (US Census Bureau)
U.S. pumpkin production from 2001 to 2016 (in 1,000 cwt)* (Statista Databases)
What's the average Las Vegas temperature in October for trick-or-treaters?
Statistics from 1950-present from NOAA.gov

Health--Finding Data on Exercise & Fitness

Your latest feature story from your editor is about exercise and fitness, encouraging people to get out and move! What percentage of Americans regularly exercise? What kinds of data exist on the topic? Look into demographics, region, etc.