LibGuides: PBH 360: Research Methods: Articles

Use the recommended databases below for your PBH 360 assignments. If you want to view other journals take a look at this list of Public Health journals listed below.

This list of resources contains links to UNLV paid databases and search engines to complete your assignments.

APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1982-
The main index for nursing literature and allied health.
Update frequency: weekly
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is an index to literature in nursing and allied health. This database provides indexing, abstracting, and full text for over 1,600 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 700,000 records.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly journal articles. Set preferences to UNLV for full text access!
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
Medline via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1950-
Over 15 million records from medical and life sciences journals.
Searching Medline on the Web of Knowledge platform allows you to also search several other databases at the same time.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine that provides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. It also includes additional selected life sciences journals not found in MEDLINE.
Medline via OVID This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 23 million article citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals.

The following is a list of core public health journals. You can search these journals from the library website using the A-Z list of journal titles.

The American Journal of Public Health
American Journal of Preventive Medicine
Annual Review of Public Health
BMC Public Health
BMJ
Emerging Infectious Diseases
Environmental Health Perspectives
Epidemiology
Health Affairs: the Policy Journal of the Health Sphere
Health Care Financing Review
Health Services Research
Health Policy and Planning
International Journal of Epidemiology
JAMA
Journal of Health Politics, Policy, and Law
Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Journal of Public Health Management and Practice
Journal of Health Policy
Lancet
Medical Care
Milbank Quarterly
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
NEJM
Online Journal of Public Health Informatics
Public Health Reports
Social Science and Medicine

Harvard Health
Current news articles about health topics written by medical professionals and published by the Harvard Medical School
HealthyPeople
A campaign to eliminate health disparities; contains information about factors that contribute to this and important datasets for understanding health topics
Plain Language Medical Dictionary
Provides definitions to medical terms in everyday language
The Community Guide
A collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF); helps you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization, or school

PBH 360: Research Methods

Locations

Contact