LibGuides: ECEM 711: Crisis & Emergency Management (Gordon)

UNLV Libraries Databases

Below are a number of journal article and newspaper databases to help you get started on your research:

UNLV Libraries Quick Search

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1923-
Articles and reports in advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers and information on 25 million companies.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Scope: International
Languages: English
Primarily a database for retrieving journal articles but allows for searching by company in the advanced search section. The ABI/INFORM Complete database offers searchable full text of more than 6,800 of the leading business and management journals in North America and the world. Coverage is international and includes advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also compiles information on 25 million companies!
Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business along with company profiles and SWOT analyses.
The database also includes company profiles of the world’s 10,000 largest companies providing SWOT analysis for many companies.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1960-
Scopus is an index to peer-reviewed scientific, medical, technical, and social science literature.
Scopus also features a citation index, allowing you to find the papers that cite a specific piece of research.

Tips for using Google Scholar
Although Google Scholar contains many resources, it does not contain access to all relevant resources for hospitality research. Researchers are strongly encouraged to look at the additional resources mentioned above to conduct a thorough literature review. You do not need to purchase articles via Google Scholar many are available for through the UNLV Libraries or via Interlibrary Loan.

For help connecting to UNLV Libraries' resources through Google Scholar see the following.

GoogleScholarcapture

Interview Resources

Below are links to interview examples with leaders in Emergency & Crisis Management:

Interview: A Next-Generation Emergency Manager
Interview with Jay Hagen, emergency preparedness officer of the Seattle Fire Department, discusses education, maritime security and the homeland security/emergency management relationship.
Q&A - Crisis Management: Luttrell & Associates
Build Your Own Disaster-Interview
Interview with Dennis Mileti, PhD, professor emeritus at the University of Colorado and former director of the school’s Natural Hazards Center,
Interview with Craig Fugate, Director of the FEMA (2009)
An Interview with Craig Fugate, Director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Video Interview with John Wheeler, Emergency Management Coordinator, CRESA
Interview with emergency management coordinator in Clark County Washington
Video Interview with Hays County Emergency Management Coodinator
A full interview with the Hays County Emergency Management Coordinator Kharley Smith
Video Interview with Kurt Schwartz, Director of Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
Kurt Schwartz, Director of Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency discusses his agency's EMAC program, the benefits of EMAC for MEMA, and the response from other states during the recent snowstorm in Massachusetts.
Issue: Crisis Management Expert Views: Q&A: What Makes a Good Crisis Manager?
Jonathan Bernstein, who has spent more than 30 years in the crisis field, is president of Monrovia, Calif.-based Bernstein Crisis Management. He spoke with SAGE Business Researcher reporter Marcia Clemmitt. This is an edited transcript of the conversation.

Organizations

International Association of Emergency Managers
The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) is a non-profit organization for professionals who are dedicated to saving lives, protecting property and safeguarding the environment during natural, manmade or technological emergencies and disasters. Current memberships is approximately 6,000 members worldwide with student membership available. The IAEM awards certifications through a peer review commission that includes the Certified Emergency Manager (CEM) and the Associate Emergency Manager (AEM).
National Emergency Management Association
Started in 1974, the National Emergency Management Association (NEMA) is a nonprofit, professional association comprised of emergency management directors from all 50 states, eight U.S. territories and the District of Columbia. It is dedicated to improving the nation’s ability to prepare, respond and recover from all emergencies and disasters. Individual and student memberships are available.
U.S. Regional and National Group Emergency Responders
The United States Regional and National Group Emergency Responders (US Ranger) is a new organization for professionals committed to providing support and aid during all phases of an emergency. Members include emergency managers, active and retired military, law enforcement, security experts as well as first responders. Its’ mission is to provide training, resources and network opportunities using a multidisciplinary approach. Student membership is not available.
ASIS International
Founded in 1955 ASIS International originally was an organization of security professionals responsible for the protection of people, property and information. However, in the last few years, it has expanded to include professionals in law enforcement, military and emergency management. They offer courses and webinars in crisis management program planning and have recently published the Business Continuity Guideline: A Practical Approach for Emergency Preparedness, Crisis Management and Disaster Recovery. Student membership is limited to individuals pursuing a security-related degree, but individual membership is available.
Infragard
InfraGard is a partnership between the FBI and the private sector. It is an association of persons who represent businesses, academic institutions, state and local law enforcement agencies, and other participants dedicated to sharing information and intelligence to prevent hostile acts against the U.S.
National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster
Founded in 1970, the National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (NVOAD) is comprised of organizations committed to mitigating the impact of disasters. Currently there are over 100 member organizations. Volunteering is through the states VOAD.

Government, Nonprofit, and Other Emergency Management Web Resources

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
ASPR TRACIE: A self-serve collection of disaster medical, healthcare, and public health preparedness materials, searchable by keywords and functional areas.
CDC: Emergency Preparedness & Response

Disaster Information Management Resource Center: From U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Disaster Lit: This a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials selected from over 700 organizations for a professional audience.
EM-DAT: The International Disaster Database: Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED)
Emergency Management Institute (EMI) Independent Study Program: from FEMA

FEMA (Federal Emergency Managment Agency): Official website of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the government agency for disaster relief. Includes a variety of information about emergency management and disaster relief.

HazLib: This is a searchable database of one of the world's largest library collections of social science literature focused on natural hazards and extreme/catastrophic events.
Department of Homeland Security

Homeland Security (MERLN): MERLN is a consortium of military education research libraries. This is a resource to find full-text documents on disaster preparedness research.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL): The HSDL is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Sources include- federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.
Homeport: DHS-US Coast Guard: from Department of Homeland Security
Lessons Learned Information Sharing: from Department of Homeland Security
Naval Postgraduate School & the U.S. Dept. of Homeland Security: Includes publications and research repositories.
NIH Disaster Research Response (DR2) Database of Research Tools: The database contains contains selected research tools used in all types of disasters. These annotated links have been compiled as part of an effort to assist researchers to quickly and easily collect reliable data about novel events.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce: Provides links to public health resources, including bioterrorism, preparedness and other topics.
PubMed: Thousands of journal citation in the National Library of Medicine on disaster/emergency preparedness and response (including natural disasters, bioterrorism, chemical terrorism, and pandemic flu.
PubMed Central: Archive containing free full-text journal articles including disaster/emergency preparedness and response.
ReliefWeb: Reliable and current humanitarian information on disasters and crises across the world collected from over 4,000 global information sources.

Special Populations: Emergency and Disaster Preparedness

TOXNET Databases: A resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.

Transportation Security Administration (TSA): from Department of Homeland Security
U.S. Customs & Border Protection: Includes C-TPAT (Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism); from Department of Homeland Security

Urban Affairs Librarian

Susie Skarl, Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

ECEM 711: Crisis & Emergency Management (Gordon)

UNLV Libraries Databases

Interview Resources

Organizations

Government, Nonprofit, and Other Emergency Management Web Resources

Urban Affairs Librarian

Locations

Contact