LibGuides: HIST 476, The Mexican Revolution (Melton-Villanueva): Library Guides

Primary Sources - Mexican Revolution

Newspaper collections

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)
A Freely Accessible Repository of Digitized California Newspapers from 1846 to the Present
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press
From University of Arizona Libraries, digitized historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1808-1980
Newspapers published by Hispanic-American communities primarily in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times, 1881-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1881-2014
Historical California newspaper.

Magazines

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.

Photo collections

A Nation Emerges: 65 years of Photography in Mexico
Exhibit and large online collection of photographs.
Wheelan Collection of Mexican Revolution Photographs
From the John Davidson Wheelan Collection located in the Texas A&M University Archives.
Mexican Revolution Postcards, 1910-1917
Beinecke Library, Yale
Runyon photo collection: South Texas Border, 1900-1920
Digitized by Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas, Austin.
Distant Neighbors: The U.S. and the Mexican Revolution
Library of Congress exhibit includes letters from U.S. President William Howard Taft (1909-1913), photographs, books, manuscripts, and maps. The site also includes materials concerning the U.S. invasion of Veracruz in 1914 and the 1916 U.S. incursion in search of Pancho Villa led by General John J. Pershing, original film footage taken during the fighting, and sheet music and recordings of songs sung at the time in the U.S. and, thanks to Arhoolie Records, the marching songs of both Pancho Villa (“Adelita”) and Venustiano Carranza (“Valentina”).
The Mexican Revolution on the Border: Primary Sources from El Paso
From University of North Texas, the collection includes 15 books and 10 postcards dating from 1910 to 1919.

Archives and digital collections

OAC Online Archive of California
Digitized collections from California university library collections.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Listing of collections held by archives and museums around the world.
rchiveGrid includes over three million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
- This link opens in a new window
Colección Revolución, 1910-1921
Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records of the U.S. State Department
- This link opens in a new window

Printed sources, Mexican Revolution

Books and government reports published at the time or by participants and eyewitnesses, all freely available online via HathiTrust.

"Red papers" of Mexico by Mexican bureau of information

Diplomat's Wife in Mexico by Edith O'Shaughnessy Letters from the American embassy at Mexico city, covering the dramatic period between October 8th, 1913, and the breaking off of diplomatic relations on April 23rd, 1914, together with an account of the occupation of Vera Cruz

Diplomatic Dealings of the Constitutionalist Revolution of Mexico by Mexican Foreign Office

Experiences and observations of an American Consular Officer during the Recent Mexican Revolutions by Will B. Davis, M. D. as Mainly told in a Series of Letters written by the Author to his Daughter.

Facts submitted by the Committee of the American colony to President Wilson and Secretary of State Bryan by Committee of the American Colony (Mexico City, Mexico) relative to the Mexican situation and the record of the Hon. Henry Lane Wilson.

Investigation of Mexican Affairs by United States Report of Senator Albert B. Fall to the Subcommittee of the Committee on Foreign Relations, examining into Mexican affairs ... Partial and ad interim report ...

Manifesto Addressed by General Francisco Villa to the Nation by Pancho Villa

Memorias del General Victoriano Huerta by Victoriano Huerta In Spanish.

President Venustiano Carranza corrects statements made by Senator Knox ... in the Senate. by Venustiano Carranza

Reply of Don Venustiano Carranza to the chief of the Northern division by Venustiano Carranza Thee first chief of the Constitutionalist army, in charge of the executive power, to the Mexican people. Refutation of the manifest of General Francisco Villa.

Report by Venustiano Carranza by Venustiano Carranza, first chief of the Constitutionalist army) in the city of Querétaro, state of Querétaro, Méx., Friday, December 1st, 1916.

The situation in our dealings with General Victorianio [!] Huerta, at Mexico City by United States Address of the President of the United States, delivered at a joint session of the two houses of Congress, April 20, 1914 ...

With the First City Troop on the Mexican border by George Brooke Being the Diary of a Trooper, by George Brooke, 3rd.

Secondary sources

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1970-
Indexes academic journals with content about Latin America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Update frequency: monthly
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is the source for over 265,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI currently provides over 34,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.