It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The State of Sex is a study of Nevada's brothels that situates the nation's only legal brothel industry in the political economy of contemporary tourism. Nevada is part of the "new American heartland," as its pastimes, people, and politics have become more central to the nation. The rise of a service and leisure economy over the past sixty years has propelled sexuality into the heart of contemporary markets. Yet, neoliberal laws in the United States promote business but limit sexual commerce. How have Nevada's legal brothels survived, while the rest of the country criminalizes prostitution? How do brothels operate? Who works in them? This book brings social theory on globalizing economies, politics, leisure consumption, and emotional labor in interactive service work together with research on contemporary prostitution and sexual commerce. The authors employ an innovative, multi-method sociological approach, combining historical analysis of how the brothels came to be with over a decade's worth of ethnographic research on the current state of the industry."
Sex Matters: The Sexuality and Society Reader has a strong sociological focus and a sex-positive perspective. With 38 new readings, Sex Matters covers a wide and diverse range of sexual experiences and identities and tackles controversial issues in a straightforward, nonstigmatizing manner. The editors mix qualitative and quantitative empirical pieces, sexual narratives and personalized accounts, cutting-edge research, and articles from the popular press for a wealth of content and diverse perspectives.
This edited volume focuses on charting the rise of neo-abolitionism and offering a critique of the idea, its logics and consequences. A model of state policy which aims to abolish prostitution through legislation, Neo-abolitionism criminalises the buyer of sex but not the seller. It is currently law in Sweden and other Nordic states and dominates the framing of policy debates in many other Western liberal contexts. Pressure for adoption of this policy has come from radical feminists who understand prostitution and sex trafficking as a form of violence against women. This volume argues that this convergence between radical feminism and state's interests arises from the emergence of, on the one hand, 'governance feminism' which seeks to have its ideals implemented through 'top-down sovereigntist means', and on the other hand, state's interests in legitimising stricter border controls and law enforcement responses in relation to transnational organised criminality, 'illegal' migration, and security. Based around a series of country case studies each chapter will explore the politics surrounding the emergence of neo-abolitionism and its trajectory through those polities, whether the paradigm has been adopted, rejected or is still under debate. The volume will be of great interest to students and scholars of Social and Public Policy, Gender and Women's Studies, Politics and International Relations and Critical Legal Studies/Criminology.
Body/Sex/Work focuses on the intimate, embodied and sexualised labour that occurs within body work and sex work. Bringing together an internationally renowned group of academics, it explores, empirically and theoretically, labour processes, workplace relations, regulation and resistance in some of the many work sites that make up the body work and sex work sectors. The book makes a key contribution to research recognising the embodiment of labour and the body, reframing the key questions in critical studies of work and employment. Key Benefits: * The first book that draws together the sub-disciplines of body work and sex work * Written by leading international experts * Contains cutting edge empirical research on contemporary topics Body/Sex/Work is an ideal companion for upper level undergraduate and postgraduate students of labour and organisation studies, body studies, gender, and sexuality. It will also appeal to researchers and lecturers in these fields.
"Sex Work Matters" brings sex workers, scholars and activists together to present pioneering essays on the economics and sociology of sex work. From insights by sex workers on how they handle money, intimate relationships and daily harassment by police, to the experience of male and transgender sex work, this fascinating and original book offers theoretical discussions as well empirical case studies, providing new ways to link theory with lived experiences. The result is a vital new contribution to sex-worker rights. The book will equip any reader with new theoretical frameworks for understanding the sex industry, challenging readers to explore the topic of sex work in new ways, especially its cultural, economic and political dimensions.
There has been a significant increase in the focus on sex offending in recent years in both the academic and public spheres. From heightened media attention on sex crimes to new waves of legislation aimed at crime prevention, issues related to sexual assault, harassment, and sexual violence have become a top priority in the Western countries. The Oxford Handbook on Sex Offenses and Sex Offenders provides comprehensive, even-handed analysis of the myriad of topics related to sex offenses, including pornography, sex trafficking, criminal justice responses, and the role of social media in sex crimes. Extending beyond the existing scholarly research on the topic, this volume teases out the key debates, controversies, and challenges involved in addressing sex crimes. While most discourse regarding sex offenders either involves prevention and control or, conversely, potential treatment options, this Handbook delves into the psychological, historical, and social contexts related to sex offenses, providing a more holistic view of the topic. The definitive volume on sex crimes and sex offenders, The Oxford Handbook on Sex Offenses and Sex Offenders makes an invaluable contribution to criminological literature.
The Oxford Handbook of the Economics of Prostitution - Brents, B. G. (2016). Nevada’s Regulated Brothels (pp. 369-390) by Scott Cunningham (Editor); Manisha Shah (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-09-07
Prostitution bears the unique title of being both the "world's oldest profession" and one of the least understood occupations. Unlike most of the crime and family literature, prostitution appears to be have all the features of traditional markets: prices, supply and demand considerations,variety in the organizational structure, and policy relevance. Despite this, economists have largely ignored prostitution in their research and writings. This has been changing, however, over the last twenty years as greater access to data has enabled economists to build better theories and gain abetter understanding of the organization of sex market. The Oxford Hanbook of the Economics of Prostitution fills the gap in our understanding. It brings together many of the top researchers in the field who explain how the prostitution markets are organized across space and time, the role of technology in shaping labor supply and demand, theintersection of prostitution with trafficking, and the optimal use of law enforcement. What makes the material unique is its explicit focus on economics as the primary methodology for organizing our understanding of prostitution. The Handbook brings to scholars' attention for the first time acollection of original writings on prostitution that provides an overview of what is known and what is not known in this area. Researchers with an interest in underground markets, labor economics, risky behaviors, marriage, and gender will find the book's contents illuminating and path breaking.