This page contains a list of the top-ranked Political Science Journals, as well as Databases and General Resources. If you're looking for databases, don't forget about the Best Bets on the Getting Started page.
Here is a list of the top journals in Political Science, ranked by h5-index: "h5-index is the h-index for articles published in the last 5 complete years. It is the largest number h such that h articles published in 2010-2014 have at least h citations each." This is what Google Scholar uses in its rankings.
The following resources contain journal articles and other research materials relating to the study of Political Science. Go to the Best Bets box in the Getting Started tab to find additional resources.
Databases & Journals
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.
Good for: Dissertations and theses.
Contains: Citations, abstracts, and full text of dissertations and theses.
Dates covered: Citations from 1861, abstracts from 1980 for dissertations and 1988 for theses, full text from 1996 for UNLV items and 1997 for most others.
Good for: Researching legal topics.
Contains: Law journals and federal legal materials.
Good for: Researching military subjects.
Contains: Full-text resources.
Dates covered: 1770s-present.
Good for: Finding works written about the Middle East and other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Contains: Index of scholarship.
Dates covered: 1906-Present.
American History Databases
Good for: Searching scholarship about the history of the United States and Canada.
Contains: Citations to journal articles and books by historians and social scientists.
Dates covered: 1955 - current.
Good for: Exploring U.S. history at an introductory level.
Contains: Primary documents, encyclopedia entries, and journal articles.
Dates covered: 1760-present.
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926.
Good for: Primary sources from the civil rights movement in the United States.
Contains: Official publications and primary source material including records of the NAACP, papers from presidential administrations, and relevant records from the FBI and other federal agencies.
Dates covered: 1901-2000.
Public Opinion Data - See also the Finding Internet Resources tab and the Data & Statistics Guide.
News
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Good for: Searching newspapers from ethnic, minority, and native communities in the United States.
Contains: Newspaper articles, editorials, and reviews.
Dates covered: 1959-present.
Government Information
Good for: Researching U.S. legislative information.
Contains: Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more.
Dates covered: 1789-present.
Good for: Understanding Britain's role in political, social, economic, and foreign policy arenas through records of Parliament.
Contains: Bills, reports, correspondence, and command papers.
Dates covered: 1801-2000.
