LibGuides: CFT 763: Family Systems Theory (Daniello-Heyda)

Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Library Databases

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical literature related to growth and development of children.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides citations to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews, abstracts from hundreds of journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. Use this resource to search all issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography.
Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1938 to present

Reviews of English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Produced by the Buros Institute, this database contains information from the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Records contain descriptive information and critical reviews of over 2,200 standardized English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Subject coverage includes behavioral science, education, psychiatry, psychology, speech, language, and hearing. Paper copies back to 1938.
Psychology and Counseling This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of 35 psychology journals published by SAGE and participating societies.
Includes the full text of 35 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 36 years, and encompasses over 21,600 articles. It covers such subjects as Psychology, Child Development, Family Studies, Language Acquisition, and Sociology of Race and Ethnicity.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1987-
Full text articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycARTICLES provides the full text for articles from 50 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. The database covers general, specialized, basic, applied, and clinical psychology, and theoretical research. It contains more than 32,000 full text articles, letters to the editor and errata.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1800-
The American Psychological Association's international psychology database indexes journal articles, books and dissertations.
Update frequency: Updated monthly
PsycINFO, from the American Psychological Association (APA), contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others.
APA PsycTESTs This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTs is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1895-
Indexes the literature of sociology and related disciplines.
Includes full text for selected journals, monographs, and conference papers and contains full text for over 325 journals dating back to 1895. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

You can set your browser to have Google Scholar link to full text articles in UNLV Libraries' databases from any computer you use. You will see UNLV Find Text link at the bottom of the citation or a next to the title. If you are using Google Scholar from a campus computer it should automatically recognize you as a Western user.

To set Google Scholar up for off-campus access:

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Use the downward facing arrow (next to the "my citations" link) in the upper right hand corner.'
Click on "settings"
Click on "Library Links" in the left navigation field
Search for University of Nevada, Las Vegas in the box that comes up.
Then search for UNLV in the same box.
Tick the boxes next to all entries. then click SAVE

How to Locate an Article Using a Citation

Let's say you found an interesting citation & wanted to see if the library had access to the article:

Citation: Contemporary MFT Models’ Alignment with Relational Common Factors
Journal Title: Contemporary Family Therapy
Date/Vol: Dec. 2013 Vol 35, Issue 4, pp. 673-683

Under the RESEARCH heading on the library home page, click on the A to Z List of Journals link.

Then, type in the title of the journal. So for the above citation, type in: Contemporary Family Therapy

You will then be provided a number of databases where you can find this journal article.

Click on this LINK to find the databases.

You will find something like this below:

Full text available at: SpringerLink Online Journals Archive Complete
Available from 1979 volume: 1 issue: 1 until 1996 volume: 18 issue: 4.
Full text available at: SpringerLink Journals Complete
Full text available at: EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
Available from 1997.
Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
Full text available at: EBSCOhost SocINDEX with Full Text
Available from 1986.
Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Film-Related Resources

APA Resources

RefWorks

RefWorks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography manager saves your citations and formats them into APA, MLA, or other styles.
This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Off-campus users, see the Using RefWorks at UNLV page for special instructions.

CFT 763: Family Systems Theory (Daniello-Heyda)