LibGuides: CFT 763: Family Systems Theory (Daniello-Heyda)

Urban Affairs Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

UNLV Libraries
Lied Library
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Box 457014
Las Vegas, NV 89154-7014
susie.skarl@unlv.edu

702-895-2141

Subjects: Communication Studies, Couple & Family Therapy, Criminal Justice, Crisis & Emergency Management, Government Information, Journalism & Media Studies, Public Administration, Social Work, Urban Studies

Library Databases

UNLV Libraries QuickSearch

Academic Search Premier
Good for: Conducting academic research on all subjects.
Contains: Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Good for: Researching child development and adolescent studies.
Contains: Current and historical scholarly literature.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Good for: Finding reviews of English-language psychological tests.
Contains: Reviews of tests.
Dates covered: 1938-present.
Psychology and Counseling
Good for: Researching psychology and counseling.
Contains: Psychology journals.

Includes the full text of 35 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 36 years, and encompasses over 21,600 articles. It covers such subjects as Psychology, Child Development, Family Studies, Language Acquisition, and Sociology of Race and Ethnicity.
APA PsycARTICLES
Good for: Accessing full-text articles from the 50 journals published by APA.
Contains: Articles from peer-reviewed journals.
Dates covered: 1987-present.
APA PsycINFO 1887-Current
Good for: Researching psychological literature.
Contains: Journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Dates covered: 1800-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Good for: Researching sociology and related disciplines.
Contains: Index to literature.
Dates covered: 1895-present.

Includes selected journals, monographs, and conference papers. Encompasses all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, and many others.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

You can set your browser to have Google Scholar link to full text articles in UNLV Libraries' databases from any computer you use. You will see UNLV Find Text link at the bottom of the citation or a next to the title. If you are using Google Scholar from a campus computer it should automatically recognize you as a Western user.

To set Google Scholar up for off-campus access:

Go to https://scholar.google.com/
Use the downward facing arrow (next to the "my citations" link) in the upper right hand corner.'
Click on "settings"
Click on "Library Links" in the left navigation field
Search for University of Nevada, Las Vegas in the box that comes up.
Then search for UNLV in the same box.
Tick the boxes next to all entries. then click SAVE

How to Locate an Article Using a Citation

Let's say you found an interesting citation & wanted to see if the library had access to the article:

Citation: Contemporary MFT Models’ Alignment with Relational Common Factors
Journal Title: Contemporary Family Therapy
Date/Vol: Dec. 2013 Vol 35, Issue 4, pp. 673-683

Under the RESEARCH heading on the library home page, click on the A to Z List of Journals link.

Then, type in the title of the journal. So for the above citation, type in: Contemporary Family Therapy

You will then be provided a number of databases where you can find this journal article.

Click on this LINK to find the databases.

You will find something like this below:

Full text available at: SpringerLink Online Journals Archive Complete
Available from 1979 volume: 1 issue: 1 until 1996 volume: 18 issue: 4.
Full text available at: SpringerLink Journals Complete
Full text available at: EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier
Available from 1997.
Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
Full text available at: EBSCOhost SocINDEX with Full Text
Available from 1986.
Most recent 1 year(s) not available.

Film-Related Resources

APA Resources

RefWorks

RefWorks
Good for: Saving, organizing and formatting citations in your personal database.
Contains: Bibliography manager.

This web-based bibliography manager lets you save citations to journal articles, books, web sites and more into your personal online database. You'll be able to quickly link to online articles, organize and share your references, and automatically create formatted bibliographies in all the major citation formats, including APA, MLA, and Chicago styles. Learn more on the RefWorks Basics page.

CFT 763: Family Systems Theory (Daniello-Heyda)