LibGuides: French: Finding journals and articles

Finding Books, Articles and More from UNLV Libraries

Search for books and online articles from UNLV Libraries and beyond using Quick Search.

The default search results will include books, online journal articles, newspaper articles, streaming video and more. Filters on the results page let you select materials by format, subject, date, or language, or you can opt to see only articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Log in with your ACE account to see results from more databases, to save and organize your items and searches, and to access your library account.

Magazines and Journals

PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Includes over 5,000 titles from the U.S. and 100 countries in 60 languages. Registering as a user with the site is optional and allows for personalized, saved settings.
Users may access the database on desktop computer, tablet and smartphone. An archive is also available to browse by country, language, and newspaper title, and to search full text of articles, photograph captions, and headlines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable published news, legal, medical and business information.
The news section delivers the full text of international, national and regional newspapers along with wire services, broadcast transcripts, magazines, and non-English language sources. The legal section contains U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews and international legal information. This includes Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789. The medical section supplies information from news and medical journals, and provides abstracts to medical news from Medline. The business section includes business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.

Access World News: French Language
- This link opens in a new window
Search current French language newspapers and press releases
Le Monde
RetroNews (French)
1631-1950
Newspapers from the Bibliotheque Nationale de France.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the Region limit to limit your search to France, a particular region of France, or another Francophone country. Alternately, you can use the Language limit to search French language sources from around the world.
This database combines over 30,000 sources from 200 countries, in 28 languages. Users have access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events – especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.

Databases that include French language resources

ARTFL This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Classic works of French and Italian literature, non-fiction prose and technical writing.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: European Literature, the Corvey Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Reading or searching in European literature from the Romantic and Victorian period.
- Contains: Novels, prose fiction, and other literary texts
- Dates covered: 1790-1840
- Languages included: English, French and German.
Works are in English, French and German.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1802-1995
Journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published between 1802-1995
Update frequency: quarterly
Search international scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995. PAO includes pre-1995 issues of over 400 journals, including many journals published in languages other than English.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.

French

Finding Books, Articles and More from UNLV Libraries

Magazines and Journals

Databases that include French language resources

Locations

Contact