It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the ME 497/498 library guide. Here you will find resources we talk about during the library session, as well as tools we hope will assist you throughout your ME 497/498 experience. Please don't hesitate to email or call any of the librarians with questions after the session.
Q. Where can we learn more about altering currently patented inventions and the procedure to patent the new inventions?
A. Here are some training resources provided by the US Patent and Trademark Office:
The country and international Patent Search Databases listed in this guide provide a number of fact sheets, guides and tutorials to assist you in becoming a better patent searcher. Below are additional resources for more advanced patent inquiries. Please remember to consult with your research advisor/professor along the way!
Because a search for a truly novel invention will come up empty (there is nothing to find), you need to know when to stop searching. When is enough searching enough? There is no perfect answer, but using a logical and organized search process will help you make that decision. The worksheet below may assist you. Feel free to make a copy and modify it to suit your search style.
Check the option to include non-patent literature to simultaneously search Google Patents and Google Scholar to locate existing documentation of inventions. Searches within United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office (EPO), and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), as well as the materials within Google Scholar.
The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices.
Industry market research information, company reports and economic reports.
Industry market research reports covering over 700 industries written at the 5-digit NAICS level which provide key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors and industry outlook. Now available, over 100 China industry reports (manufacturing, accommodation and food service, education, conventions, real estate, transportation, etc.). Please click on the "China Site" link above the list of U.S. Industry reports to access the site.
To use the database, please create an account using your UNLV email address.
The PrivCo database is the source for business and financial research on non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, venture-backed and international unlisted companies.
It contains profiles for over 900,000 firms, 20,000 investors and 100,000 private market deals that are updated daily. Whether doing company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, or private equity research, PrivCo is searchable by advanced criteria in all categories.
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to a library of 200+ page market profile studies from Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information (SBI) covering industries including consumer goods, food and beverages, demographics, healthcare, technology, media, manufacturing, and many others. Reports include extensive background information, forecasts and analyses on the topic, statistics, charts, graphs and tables. Reports are added to the service within 12 months after they are released to commercial clients.
Statista provides statistical data from thousands of institutions and sources. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government agencies.
Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
This commercial website provides access to thousands of products and services. The database is searchable by product or services type, geographic location, brand name, and more. Also included are white papers describing industry trends, and information about companies and product lines.
Index to scholarly chemistry literature, patent documents, and database of chemical information searchable by chemical name, formula, or structure drawing.
Use the search options at the top of the page to search for references, chemicals, or reactions. Searching for chemicals and reactions can be achieved by drawing them with the Structure Editor or Reaction Editor, respectively.
The European Union's free patent search tool, Espacenet, offers free access to more than 80 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
Google Scholar can locate public patent documents from the U.S. Patent Office and the European Union's Patent Organization (EPO).
Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and reports from many academic and technical fields. It is freely available to anyone searching the Internet; however, many of the links that lead to full text resources are not. On your first visit, go to Google Scholar Preferences and use the Library Links box to set UNLV as your source for no-fee access to many full text articles. For answers to questions about Google Scholar, check out the FAQ.
The Howard R. Hughes College of Engineering's Mendenhall Innovation Center allows undergraduate students to earn a minor in entrepreneurship and design.
The UNLV Lee Business School's Center for Entrepeneurship provides many resources and opportunities for co-curricular opportunities (contests, awards, etc.) that may be of interest to ME 497/498 students.
SCORE is America’s premier source of free and confidential small business advice for entrepreneurs and small businesses, and is a nonprofit resource partner with the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). We have over 300 SCORE offices across the country offering free business mentoring and low- or no-cost workshops. Find free resources for start ups and small businesses, including free business plan templates.