LibGuides: IDS 240: Interdisciplinary Research Methods: Historical Sources

Primary Source Collections

The full text of letters and diary entries, often from works that have been previously published as books containing collections of letters or diaries. Use the Browse indexes to find works about specific historical or life events.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
1860-1865
Published memoirs, letters and diaries written about and during the Civil War.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
1500-1900.
Searchable collection of women's letters and diaries.
North American Immigrant Letters & Diaries This link opens in a new window
1840-
Personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories about immigrating to the U.S. or Canada.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
1770-1950
Diaries, journals, and letters written by famous and not-so-famous North American women.
War Department and Indian Affairs This link opens in a new window
1800-1824
Handwritten correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, and others.

Use the date range limit to narrow your search to a relevant time period.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
American newspapers including the New York Herald, Lynchburg Virginian, The Hawaiian Gazette, Rocky Mountain News, Southern Illustrated News (VA), Daily Inter Ocean (Chicago), the Milwaukee Sentinel, and many more.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
1827-1902
African-American newspapers including The Colored American, all of Frederick Douglass’ newspapers, The Freedmen’s Record, and more.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1690-1923
Historical newspapers from every state in the U.S.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
1828-2016
Includes national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.
Historical Black Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
1893-2010
African American newspapers from Atlanta, Baltimore, Chicago, Cleveland, Los Angeles, New York, Norfolk VA., Philadelphia, and Pittsburgh.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1732-1950
National and regional British newspapers representing different political and cultural views.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender, 1909-2010 This link opens in a new window
1909-2010
African American newspaper from Chicago, Illinois.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
1849-2014
Major daily newspaper from Chicago.
Historical Newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, 1908-2007 This link opens in a new window
1908-2007
Articles and images from The Christian Science Monitor newspaper.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1789-1924
Historical newspapers from the Library of Congress, including Nevada newspapers.
Civil War 1860-1865: A Newspaper Perspective This link opens in a new window
1860-1865
Newspaper reports of major events of the Civil War covered by both Union and Confederate sources.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
1808-1980
Newspapers published by Hispanic-American communities primarily in Arizona, California, New Mexico, Texas and New York.
Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
1881-2015
Historical California newspaper.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
1851-2020
Historical New York newspaper.
Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune, 1841-1922 This link opens in a new window
1841-1922
Full text of New York Tribune, 1841-1922.
South Carolina Newspapers This link opens in a new window
1732-1775, 1777-1780
The South Carolina Gazette published news and details of life and trade in America during the years prior to independence.
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post, 1903-2001 This link opens in a new window
1903-2001
English-language Hong Kong daily newspaper.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
1785-2019
The Times (London) newspaper.
Historical Newspapers: Washington Post This link opens in a new window
1877-2007
Daily newspaper from Washington, DC.

List of free digitized US newspapers by state
Google News Archive
Mostly American and Canadian papers, 19th and 20th century.

Search for articles published in popular magazines and journals from different times in history.

Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
Magazines revealing British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values, and ideas that shaped their world.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, part II: Empire This link opens in a new window
1800-1900
Magazines by and for British imperial colonizers, settlers, missionaries, and travelers.
Gale Primary Sources
African American Historical Serials Collection, 1816-1922 This link opens in a new window
1816-1922
Newspapers and magazines published by African American churches, educational and service institutions.
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society, Part I-V (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
1684-1912
Popular magazines, newspapers, and journals published in the United States.
American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
1740-1940
Magazines and journals published in the U.S. mostly before 1900.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1681-1920
Popular British periodicals mostly from the 19th century.
Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 This link opens in a new window
1843-2015
Issues of The Economist, a news magazine with a global scope published in London.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
1685-1835
Literary, satirical, political, religious and theatrical magazines and newspapers from Britain, Ireland, Scotland, India and the Caribbean.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
1880-2015
Music, film, broadcasting and theater industry trade publications published before 2015 including Variety, Billboard, Spin, The Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, American Film, Picturegoer and more.
Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window
1830-1880
American magazine with firsthand information on social, historical and cultural aspects of the 19th century.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
1867-
Harper's Bazaar magazine shows changes in American fashion, culture and society.
Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
1903-1995. Film industry and fan publications.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2013 This link opens in a new window
1902-2013
London Times Literary Supplement publishes essays, letters, poems and articles.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Researching fashion and culture, including specific garments, accessories or brands.
- Contains: Images and text from Vogue Magazine.
- Dates covered: 1892-present.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
1887-2005
North American women's magazines including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents Magazine, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan and Essence.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
1910-
Comprehensive archive of Women’s Wear Daily (WWD), the leading fashion-industry trade paper.

Collections of several types of primary sources curated around a topic or theme.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Politics and Society This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources about the development of urban centers and of the restructuring of society that took place during the Industrial Revolution in Great Britain.
- Contains: Government and archival collections
- Dates covered: 1750-1916
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary source documentation related to the European “Scramble for Africa,” colonial conquest and the legacy of slavery, missionaries, explorers, economics, world politics, and international strategy.
- Contains: Books, manuscripts, government records and newspaper accounts
- Dates covered: 1800-1906
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
1935-1965
Market research reports and supporting documents regarding the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century from the archives of Ernest Dichter and the Institute for Motivational Research.
Part of the American Consumer Culture combined search portal.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
1400-1950s
Primary sources for American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico. Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books from pre-contact through the mid-20th century.
American West This link opens in a new window
1830-1939
Pamphlets, maps, books, ephemeral material and rare printed sources related to the history of the American West.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts I and II) This link opens in a new window
1940-present
Primary sources from more than 35 countries related to LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Scholarship and historical sources for Black Studies.
China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949 This link opens in a new window
1817-1949
Academic and literary journals, journals of sinology, and missionary periodicals in English about China.
China and the Modern World: Records of the Maritime Customs Service of China, 1854-1949 This link opens in a new window
1858-1949
Primary source collection for the study of China and its relations with the West in the late Qing and Republican periods.
China Studies This link opens in a new window
1750-1980
Primary source documents like printed books, pamphlets, paintings, manuscripts, diaries, newspapers and periodicals offer evidence of Chinese life and culture over the past 300 years
Combined search of: China, America and the Pacific, China: Culture and Society, and China: Trade, Politics and Culture.
Confidential Print: Africa This link opens in a new window
1834-1966
Primary source documents about African colonies generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices of the British government between 1834 and 1966.
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
1492-1969
Primary sources about British colonies in Africa, North and South America, Australia, and South Asia, 1492-1969.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
1900-
Food Studies Online contains 80,000 pages of primary archival materials, images, and secondary works, plus 200 hours of documentaries and series, and visual ephemera.
Key themes and disciplines with extensive coverage represented include marketing and consumerism, production and technology, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology, and history. Coverage from the 1940s.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement and Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
1650-1920
Primary sources like expedition records, letters, diaries and government records from Europeans creating colonies in North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
1500-present
Primary source materials that tell the story of global trade in chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, and wine and spirits.
Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window
1800-1960
Primary sources related to Hispanic-American writers and activists in the 19th and 20th centuries.
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
1800-1924
Primary sources like personal accounts, correspondence, maps, plans and photos documenting the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement This link opens in a new window
1945-1950
Records from the National Archives of the UK reveal challenges facing Displaced Persons, refugees and humanitarian aid organizations in the aftermath of World War II.
Popular Culture in Britain and America This link opens in a new window
1950-1975
Primary sources documenting music and popular culture in the US and Britain, 1950-1975, including manuscripts, video, photos, underground magazines and more.
Part of Americana combined search portal
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
1490-2007
Case studies documenting slavery in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba, along with material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
Trade Catalogues and the American Home This link opens in a new window
1850-1950
Primary sources like catalogs, price lists, and brochures reflecting the history of consumer advertising and marketing and life and leisure in America. Includes department store catalogs, cosmetic advertisements, real estate brochures and much more.
Part of the American Consumer Culture combined search portal.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
- Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
- Dates covered: 1779-1930.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires This link opens in a new window
1820-present
Primary sources highlighting the voices of colonized women, including in China, Japan, the Philippines, Europe, the Eastern Mediterranean and Balkans, and South Africa. Includes Native American women, also American women in Guatemala and China.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
1600-2000
Books, images, historical documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies which document reform activities by and affecting women.
Women's Suffrage Collection This link opens in a new window
1849-1913
Newspaper collections deliver an in-depth look at the eighty-year struggle by women to secure the right to vote.
The Lily. 1849-1856
National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
The Revolution. 1868-1872
The New Citizen. 1909-1912
The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
The Remonstrance. 1890-1913

Digitized documents from an archive, museum or library collection - could contain records, manuscripts, or correspondence, for example.

American Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
1820-1922
Pamphlets with advice and opinions about all kinds of 19th century controversies.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
American Broadsides and Ephemera This link opens in a new window
1749-1900
Printed menus, advertisements, cards, playbills, poems and other printed items never intended to last.
African American Archives This link opens in a new window
1792-1941
Primary source documents from the National Archives about the lives of African Americans in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
1901-2000
Records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and the federal government; includes FBI files on Martin Luther King Jr; records of the NAACP.
Chatham House Online This link opens in a new window
1920-2008
Commentary, speeches and analysis on international affairs from a British non-profit NGO.
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window
1690-1965 (mainly 1940-1955)
Primary source historical documents from the archives of Winston Churchill, British Prime Minister during and after World War II.
FBI File: Howard Hughes This link opens in a new window
FBI records on billionaire Howard Hughes (1905-1976) describing his aircraft manufacture and aviation, the motion picture business, Las Vegas real estate, and the Nevada gaming industry.
Foreign Office Files for China This link opens in a new window
1919-1980
British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980.
Part of the Archives Direct combined search portal.
Gateway to North America This link opens in a new window
1801-1900
Community histories, atlases, and other primary sources documenting people, places, and organizations of 19th century New York.
Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
1884-
Corporate annual reports from 1884 to 2008.
Update frequency: annual
A rich source for scholars in business, economics, and history, this collection of annual reports for 800 U.S. companies dating from 1884 to 2008 provides information on companies, including financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends.
Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations This link opens in a new window
1917-1970
Primary source documents from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
Native American Archives This link opens in a new window
1792-1940
Treaties and correspondence between the US government and American Indian tribes; also photos, census rolls, Dawes packets and enrollment cards.
NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
1913-1965
Selected sets of documents from the archives of the NAACP.
Archives of the NAACP: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files; Special Subjects.
The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; Legal Department Files; Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.

Digitized collections of books published during different time periods.

Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
1639-1800
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America before 1800.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new window
1801-1819
Complete books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America between 1801 and 1819.
Part of America's Historical Imprints combined search portal
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
1475-1700
Books on all subjects published in England between 1475 and 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
1701-1800
Books on all subjects published in English between 1701 and 1800.
Gerritsen Collection-Women's History Online, 1543-1945 This link opens in a new window
1543-1945
Books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Searching books and periodicals, including full text access to those in the public domain and limited search for those still under copyright.
- Contains: Scanned books and periodicals
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
Cross-search five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.

Official government publications, including laws, treaties, and records of legislative proceedings.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.
Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions 1789-2016 This link opens in a new window
1789-present
Contains searchable full text of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present.
Individual bills may be directly accessed or searched via a composite bill profile page that links out to its various versions.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Online law journals and full text federal legal materials.
HeinOnline is an image-based, fully searchable database made up primarily of law journals. Newer content is not added until the end of a volume year so the most recent issues are likely a year old. Coverage varies by title, but most sources go back to volume one. In addition to journals, it also contains treaties, the federal register, some classic treatises and some federal legislative materials. Subscription to HeinOnline is sponsored by the Wiener-Rogers Law Library.
Making of Modern Law (MOML) This link opens in a new window
1600-1926
Cross-search five Making of Modern Law databases: Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law 1600-1926, Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources 1620-1926, Making of Modern Law: Treatises, 1800-1926, and Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926.
Routledge English Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
476 -1914
Primary sources with editorial commentary representing significant British historical documents, like treaties, statutes, declarations, government and cabinet proceedings and more.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
1801-2000
Bills, reports, correspondence and command papers all highlight Britain's role in the political, social, economic and foreign policy arenas.

Digitized photos and art images.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Photography This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Texts on the invention and early history of photography, collections of photographs, photograph albums, and early books illustrated with photos.
- Contains: Books, photographs
- Dates covered: 1800s-early 1900s
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Art digital images and related data.
A repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, social sciences and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content user.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
Images held by the Prints and Photographs division of the Library of Congress.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library of Congress. About 90% of the records are accompanied by one or more digital images. In some collections, only thumbnail images display to those searching outside the Library of Congress because of potential rights considerations.

Life Photo Archive
Millions of news and editorial photographs and other images dating from 1750 to the present. Includes many iconic images, but most were never published.
NYPL Digital Photo Collections
Includes several fashion design collections as well as many historical photos from the NY Public Library.
Smithsonian Photography Initiative
Online database of photographs dating from the 1850s to the present. Subjects cover the arts and literature, culture and society, nature and science, industry and technology, history and geography. Includes both professional photos and amateur snapshots.
UNLV digital photo collections
Search collection of photos of Nevadans and more held in UNLV Libraries Special Collections and Archives.

These links allow you to search across multiple databases at the same time.

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals, Archives of Sexuality & Gender (LGBTQ History), British Library Newspapers, The Economist (1843-2014), Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana (1500-1926), China and the Modern World, London Times Digital Archive, and London Times Literary Supplement.
Historical U.S. Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
1841-2000 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest U.S. historical newspaper collections simultaneously.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender‎ (1909 - 1975)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune‎ (1849 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908 - 2003)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times‎ (1881 - 1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times‎ (1851 - 2013)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune‎ (1841 - 1922)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post‎ (1877 - 2000)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. West, including Reno Gazette-Journal (1876-2008), San Francisco Examiner (1889-2007), and Spokane Statesman-Review (1894-2009)
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
1740-1940 with some more recent
Search all ProQuest historical periodical collections simultaneously.
American Periodicals‎ (1740 - 1940)
British Periodicals‎ (1681 - 1939)
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive‎ (1880 - 2000)
The Harper's Bazaar Archive‎ (1867 - current)
Periodicals Archive Online‎
The Vogue Archive‎
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005)
The Women's Wear Daily Archive‎
Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
1639-1922
Combined search of American historical newspapers (1690-1922), printed books (1639-1819), and pamphlets and ephemera (1749-1922).
Search all collections of historical primary sources from Readex simultaneously: America's Historical Newspapers, American Broadsides and Ephemera; American Pamphlets; Early American Imprints (Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker).

AM Explorer
Use "Search products held at my institution." Note that UNLV does not have access to Worlds Fairs, Literary MSS: Leeds, or Leisure, Travel, and Mass Culture and they need to be manually unchecked.
more...less...
Searches American Indian Histories and Cultures
American West
Confidential Print: Africa
Foreign Office Files for China
Literary Manuscripts Berg
China, America and the Pacific
China: Culture and Society
China: Trade, Politics and Culture
Market Research and American Business
Trade Catalogues and the American Home
Eighteenth Century Drama
Eighteenth Century Journals
Empire Online
Shakespeare In Performance
Frontier Life
Global Commodities
Literary Manuscripts Brotherton & Berg
Migration to New Worlds
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Victorian Popular Culture
Accessible Archives combined search
Cross search 19thC American periodicals, newspapers, pamphlets, and clippings.
more...less...
Collections include African American Newspapers, The Civil War A Newspaper Perspective, Godey's Lady's Book, South Carolina Newspapers (colonial), and antislavery and woman suffrage publications.
EBSCO 19th C periodicals
Cross search American Antiquarian Society periodicals with African American Serials, Gateway to North America collections.

Journal Articles

Secondary sources. Journal articles written by historians published in scholarly journals.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books about the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Scope: U.S. and Canada only
Languages: Abstracts of articles in 40 different languages
This index includes almost 400,000 bibliographic entries from over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Books, media reviews, and dissertations are also covered, and approximately 16,000 entries are added each year. The Get Text button links to online full text when available and offers access to UNLV print collections and document delivery options for books and articles not available online.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.

Secondary sources. Collections of scholarly journals that include history journals along with journals from other academic disciplines.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window
1802-1995
Journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published between 1802-1995
Update frequency: quarterly
Search international scholarly literature in the humanities and social sciences disciplines from 1802 to 1995. PAO includes pre-1995 issues of over 400 journals, including many journals published in languages other than English.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
1995-
Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Update frequency: monthly

Magazines, newsletters and other popular sources written for members of a community. Could be primary or secondary sources depending on how you use them.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
1959-
Articles, editorials, and reviews from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
1974-
Publications on gender issues. International publications as well as reports, pamphlets, papers, and conference proceedings devoted to gender issues.
Update frequency: quarterly
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
1890-1982
Index to articles in popular magazines before 1983.
Citations to articles in U. S. general-interest magazines, providing coverage of events prior to 1983. Covers nonfiction, fiction, poems, short stories, and reviews of books, dance, motion pictures, musicals, operas and operettas, radio and television programs, and theater.

Indexes that list citations for scholarship published on a topic. Use the UNLV Find Text button to find out if the full article is available online or request a PDF delivered to your email via ILLiad.

Article First This link opens in a new window
Articles in all subject areas from more than 16,000 journals.
Subject coverage in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture is particularly strong.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
1975-
A&HCI provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.
Update frequency: Updated weekly
Use this tool to identify how often a particular author has been cited in the work of peers or to identify the most influential scholarship on a topic.
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
1906-
Indexes work written about the Middle East and other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere.
Update frequency: annual
Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
1972-
Index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
From the Public Affairs Information Service, this database provides access to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It includes records from journals, books, conference proceedings, research and government reports, and directories.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
1890-1982
Index to articles in popular magazines before 1983.
Citations to articles in U. S. general-interest magazines, providing coverage of events prior to 1983. Covers nonfiction, fiction, poems, short stories, and reviews of books, dance, motion pictures, musicals, operas and operettas, radio and television programs, and theater.

Analyzing historical soucres

How to analyze a primary source
List of questions to consider when picking primary sources. From Molly Ladd-Taylor, Annette Igra, Rachel Seidman, and others at Carleton College.
Reading and Writing about primary sources
Advice from College of William and Mary's History Writing Resource Center.
Reading Historical Material
Step-by-step advice from the history librarian at Thompson Rivers University in Kamloops, BC.

History GUide

History Library Guide
This guide contains a wealth of information on history from ancient world to the present, including local and Nevada history

IDS 240: Interdisciplinary Research Methods: Historical Sources

Primary Source Collections

Journal Articles

Analyzing historical soucres

History GUide

Locations

Contact