LibGuides: Public Policy and Leadership: Finding Data & Statistics

Statistics & Datasets

American National Elections Study (ANES)
General Social Survey (GSS)
Pew Research Center Datasets
SDA Archive
Stanford Center for the Study of Poverty and Inequality
Voter Turnout
Voteworld
World Bank Databank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Values Survey
The World Values Survey is a global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life, led by an international team of scholars, with the WVS association and secretariat headquartered in Stockholm, Sweden.
American FactFinder
Create tables or maps and download data from the Census of Population and Housing, Economic Census, or American Community Survey.
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention public health data tool.
dataZoa
dataZoa allows you to access and monitor over 3 billion dynamic data series from public sites and other dataZoa publishers. You can get data on economics, demographics, energy, finance, health and more from sites such as the U.S. Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, Yahoo Finance, the National Center for Education Statistics, and more.

To use dataZoa you must create a personal account from a UNLV email address to begin.

Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is a standard reference resource for data on all aspects of American history. This resources contains five sections:
1) Population
2) Work and Welfare
3) Economic Structure
4) Economic Sectors
5) Governance and International Relations

A source for quantitative indicators of American history, this database of almost 2000 tables covers nearly every quantifiable dimension in American history, including population, work and welfare, and international relations from the earliest times to the present. Chapters are preceded by essays that introduce the quantitative history of their subject, provide a guide to the sources, and offer expert advice on the reliability of the data and the limits that might be placed on their interpretation.
ICPSR
Good for: Acquiring and preserving social science data.
Contains: Social science data.

Users must have an account with ICPSR to download datasets.

To register, you must be affiliated with UNLV, which is a member institution of ICPSR, and you must access the site from a recognized UNLV IP address.

Register for an account from off campus (you will be prompted to login with your ACE account or activated RebelCard barcode and PIN).
MyResearcher.com
MyReseacher is an innovative and powerful data-tracking and information reporting web application created by Applied Analysis. MyReseacher allows users to search millions of economic, fiscal, social and environmental metrics, tracking and trending the ones that matter most to them. MyResearcher has Las Vegas and Clark County area statistics as well as detailed gaming statistics from across the United States.

Users will be required to create an account with their UNLV email address.

MyResearcher is a data-tracking and information reporting tool created by Applied Analysis with Las Vegas and Clark County area statistics as well as detailed gaming statistics from across the United States. It allows users to search millions of economic, fiscal, social and environmental metrics, tracking and trending the ones that matter most to them. MyResearcher has Las Vegas and Clark County area statistics as well as detailed gaming statistics from across the United States.

UNData
This website pools together over 60 years of data collected by the UN.
UNLV - Office of Decision Support Reports
Provides access to a variety of UNLV statistics, including student profiles, FTE Enrollments, Fiscal resources, Diversity, and more.
Vizala
Vizala is an online database that is completely free and open. It would be the only site on the list that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes the data for specific areas of interest. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.

Sage Data
Good for: N/A (Content has been migrated to DataPlanet.)
Statista
Good for: Finding statistical data.
Contains: Statistical data from various sources.

Statista includes data on more than 85,000 topics from 18,000 sources. About 20 percent of the total data in Statista comes from sources available free online, such as the World Bank and the U.S. Census, but the data also includes numerous exclusive sources which include industry, marketing, and trade groups. Much of the data is related to marketing, demographic, government and industry information, and is international in scope. Data can be downloaded in JPG, PowerPoint and Excel.
WRDS
Good for: Accessing financial and economic data.
Contains: CRSP, ISSM, Global Insight (Basic Economics) data, and more. Users must request an account.

Limited to UNLV affiliated users. Users must request an account. Register at this link https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/register/
The Wharton Research Data Service provides World Wide Web access to CRSP, ISSM and Global Insight (Basic Economics).

USAFacts.org
USAFacts is a new data-driven portrait of the American population, our government’s finances, and government’s impact on society.
UNLV Libraries Data & Statistics Guide
Data-related databases, government sources, and data by specific subjects.
UNLV Data Management
The University of Nevada Las Vegas (UNLV) University Libraries created this website to provide helpful resources for researchers designing or implementing a data management plan.
UNLV Government Information
Information on how to find publications that are produced by government agencies covering a wide variety of topics.

Public Policy and Leadership

Statistics & Datasets

Locations

Contact