Music

Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online™ and contains The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The New Grove Dictionary of American Music, and The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

This resource contains essential music reference works, including full text of Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Within this resource one can find information on over 11,000 composers, 7,000 performers and ensembles, definitions of musical terms, photographs and images of musicians, instruments, and ensembles.

Also in print: UNLV Music Ref -- ML100 .G16 1998
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to ethnic music research of cultures throughout the world. It contains more than 9,000 pages of material with entries by more than 700 expert contributors. It is the most complete body of work focused on world music.

Comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Location: UNLV Music Ref
Boccagna's "practical compendium" is a multilingual concordance of musical terms in Italian, French, German, and English.

Location: UNLV Music Ref
An authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists that covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop.

Location: UNLV Music Ref
From the dawn of operetta in the 18th century to the present, this set offers an unrivaled amount of information on the people, the songs and shows in America and around the world.

Location: UNLV Music Ref
This set contains evaluations of significant operas, along with biographies of the composers, librettists, producers, designers, performers and conductors who made them.