LibGuides: HIST 451, Capstone Research Seminar (Brown): Student topics

AA (Mehmed II)

Oxford Bibliographies: Renaissance Ottoman Empire
Western Books microfilm collection
see the list of available works in a printed binder in the Micro index area DZ 57 .W47 1800z

ZB (pilots)

Digital Public Library of America

NAACP Papers This link opens in a new window
1913-1965
Selected sets of documents from the archives of the NAACP.
Archives of the NAACP: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; Branch Department, Branch Files and Youth Department Files; Special Subjects.
The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; Legal Department Files; Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses.
Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle This link opens in a new window
1901-2000
Records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and the federal government; includes FBI files on Martin Luther King Jr; records of the NAACP.

LN (Crimea)

U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
1801-2000
Bills, reports, correspondence and command papers all highlight Britain's role in the political, social, economic and foreign policy arenas.

Eight Months on Active Service

HR (Debbie Reynolds)

Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.
Media History Digital Library This link opens in a new window
1903-1995. Film industry and fan publications.

ST (Hurricane K in NO)

JV (Our Lady of Guadeloupe)

Mexico in History: Colonialism to Revolution This link opens in a new window
1500-1929
Primary sources about Mexican history from Spanish contact with Indigenous communities, through colonial rule, Independence, the National and Reforma periods and the onset of the Revolution.
Las Vegas Review Journal Archive (1929-1996) This link opens in a new window
3/30/1929-present
Nevada daily newspaper. 1929-1996 is page images only; 1997- is article text only, no images.

Special Collections and Archives Portal

D"J"F (Rome in Balkans)

BP Greek inscriptions

Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of the ancient Greek and Roman world covering history, myth, philosophy, art, architecture and more.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Over 500 classical Greek and Latin works with page-by-page English translations, introductions, notes and bibliographies.
The collection includes Greek and Latin epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, religion, medical writers and mathematicians. The Greek, Latin, and English texts are fully searchable.

SR (Civil War)

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
1860-1865
Published memoirs, letters and diaries written about and during the Civil War.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Exploring women’s letters and diaries to learn about historical events and details of daily life in the past.
- Contains: Handwritten letters and diaries with a detailed index
- Dates covered: 1770s-1970s
The letters and diaries reveal, in each woman’s own hand, the details of the authors’ daily lives, their activities and concerns, and their attitudes towards the people and world around them. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society in Worcester, Massachusetts.

MT (PR voters)

JW (suffragettes)

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society This link opens in a new window
The letters and diaries reveal, in each woman’s own hand, the details of the authors’ daily lives, their activities and concerns, and their attitudes towards the people and world around them. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society in Worcester, Massachusetts.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Women's Suffrage Collection This link opens in a new window
The Lily. 1849-1856
National Citizen and Ballot Box. 1878-1881
The Revolution. 1868-1872
The New Citizen. 1909-1912
The Western Woman Voter. 1911-1913
The Remonstrance. 1890-1913
Godey's Lady's Book This link opens in a new window
Everyday Life and Women in America This link opens in a new window
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window

dp.la suffragettes

CB (Norman food)

Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
9th century-2015
Cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and other primary sources revealing the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere.
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
1900-
Food Studies Online contains 80,000 pages of primary archival materials, images, and secondary works, plus 200 hours of documentaries and series, and visual ephemera.
Key themes and disciplines with extensive coverage represented include marketing and consumerism, production and technology, food history, food movements, culinary and food design, food and identity, health, policy, religion, sociology, anthropology, and history. Coverage from the 1940s.

SM (astrology)

Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Finding primary sources related to popular entertainment in America, Britain, and Europe.
- Contains: Books, posters, scrapbooks, and optical toys.
- Dates covered: 1779-1930.

astrology in the middle ages bibliographical essay

Power to the People: Counterculture, Social Movements, and the Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
- Good For: Searching alternative press publications to read about antiestablishment and countercultural ideas and movements through art, satire, humor, and alternative lifestyles.
- Contains: Posters, pamphlets, and alternative magazines from the US and UK like the Fortean Times, Viz., and Bizarre.
- Dates Covered: 1800s-2020s
Access code is rebels; trial expires 3/15/25. If this collection would be valuable for your research or teaching, please let us know via the trials feedback form!

MP (Nevada military academy)

(google doc)
Journals of the Senate and Assembly of the Nevada Legislature
print series in second floor compact shelving, please ask if you aren't sure

Congressional Publications (ProQuest Congressional) This link opens in a new window
1789-
U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Includes the U.S. Serial Set.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including access to many full-text Congressional publications, bills, laws, regulations, committee information, and more. Additionally, searchers can retrieve CIS Legislative Histories for public laws. Contains an index of congressional publications from 1789 to the present and locate information about members and committees. Statutes at Large and Congressional Indexes from 1789-1969 are included.

JS (Soviet Jewish community)

Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window
1918-1990
Documentaries, newsreels and feature films that reveal the 20th century world as seen by Soviet, Chinese, Vietnamese, East European, British and Latin American filmmakers.
This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. Covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Archive of American Soviet Jewry Movement

CY (Montesquieu)

America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
1639-1923
PDFs of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in North America, including most books published between 1639-1819.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas This link opens in a new window
Good for: Finding primary source materials on exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and more.
Contains: Historical books, pamphlets, serials and other documents about North America, South America, Central America and the Caribbean.
Dates covered: 1500-1926

HIST 451, Capstone Research Seminar (Brown): Student topics

AA (Mehmed II)

ZB (pilots)

LN (Crimea)

HR (Debbie Reynolds)

ST (Hurricane K in NO)

JV (Our Lady of Guadeloupe)

D"J"F (Rome in Balkans)

BP Greek inscriptions

SR (Civil War)

MT (PR voters)

JW (suffragettes)

CB (Norman food)

SM (astrology)

MP (Nevada military academy)

JS (Soviet Jewish community)

CY (Montesquieu)

Locations

Contact