LibGuides: HIST 742, Studies in Transnational History Seminar (Tusan): Secondary sources

Working with Primary Sources

Bloomsbury History: Theory and Method This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks about historiography, historical theory, methods for analyzing primary sources, and schools of thought within the discipline of history.
Research Skills Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Essays, videos, how-to guides and case studies by historians, archivists and other specialists about working with primary sources.
From guidance on where you can find historical documents to the questions you might want to pose and how best to approach analyzing the content they hold, this platform gathers together practical advice and instruction from experts working around the world.

Topic overviews

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research reviews and historiographical essays published in the Oxford Handbooks series. Use these to get an overview of how historians have approached a topic.

WorldCat

WorldCat lets you identify books held by other libraries that you may be able to borrow from interlibrary loan.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
11th century -
Use WorldCat to search the holdings of academic, public and special libraries around the world.
This union catalog contains records of books and other items in libraries worldwide. Items owned by UNLV Libraries are indicated; UNLV students, faculty and staff may request books via Document Delivery Services.

WorldCat.org
Free online version of WorldCat; includes fewer items than the library subscription version but has nicer interface.

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Searchable articles from academic and professional journals and magazines covering every academic discipline.
Update frequency: Updated daily
This excellent one-stop resource lets you search citations and summaries by keyword and then instantly retrieve the full text of articles from journals online. The Get Text button helps you locate any article without linked full text in alternate online sources or in UNLV's print journal collection.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1954-
Journal articles and books about world history from 1450 forward (Does not include the United States and Canada). Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Historical Abstracts identifies journal articles about the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada (See: America: History and Life). Articles from over 2,000 journals are indexed and annotated, and the database includes over half a million entries in all. A select 3,000 books are also listed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An archive of more than 700 important scholarly journals covering business, ecology, education, ethnic studies, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and sociology with content ending 3-5 years ago
JSTOR digitally archives more than 700 scholarly journals. Subjects include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, and more.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
1995-
Scholarly journals in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Update frequency: monthly
Bloomsbury Cultural History This link opens in a new window
Ebooks surveying cultural phenomena across different historical periods - topics include fashion, leisure, sexuality, medicine, youth and many more.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
- Good for: Searching books and periodicals, including full text access to those in the public domain and limited search for those still under copyright.
- Contains: Scanned books and periodicals

Archive.org Library requires free Internet Archive account for one hour loan of all in copyright works.
more...less...
Scanned books published before 2011. Make a free account to borrow works still under copyright.

Reference Guides and other ways to get oriented to work already done

Current overviews of scholarship

Bloomsbury History: Theory and Method This link opens in a new window
Articles and ebooks about historiography, historical theory, methods for analyzing primary sources, and schools of thought within the discipline of history.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research reviews and historiographical essays published in the Oxford Handbooks series. Use these to get an overview of how historians have approached a topic.

History Compass
Review articles to get an overview of current scholarship on historical topics.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Scholarly topic overviews and annotated bibliographies with expert literature reviews from a wide range of disciplines.
Video tutorial for Oxford Bibliographies

H-Net online reviews
Reviews of books and web projects in history and other humanities disciplines

Older guides for use doing historiography

The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature (1995)
This guide is an annotated bibliography of key sources in different regions and time periods. Sources published after 1992 are not included, but this can help you identify relevant collections or standard works.
AHA guide 1961 edition
(table of contents cuts off but you can use the page number dropdown to navigate the rest of the book - start with the Frontmatter link and navigate to page xix to pick up where the online table of contents ends. US History begins on page 711.)
A guide to historical literature (1931)
First bibliography from American Historical Association

Dissertations

Dissertations generally have excellent bibliographies and often include a section that reviews scholarship done on a topic.

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
citations 1861-; abstracts 1980-; full text 1997-
Full text of most dissertations produced after 1997; citations and abstracts for others.
Update frequency: Updated quarterly
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses contains over 1.5 million entries, providing citations to North American and European dissertations from 1861 forward, with abstracts from 1980 forward. It also provides citations and abstracts for theses from 1988 forward. Full text of UNLV theses and dissertations available from 1996 to the present. Full text from all other institutions available from 1997 to the present.

HIST 742, Studies in Transnational History Seminar (Tusan): Secondary sources

Working with Primary Sources

Topic overviews

WorldCat

Secondary Sources: Books and Articles

Reference Guides and other ways to get oriented to work already done

Locations

Contact