Good for: Finding the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words.
Contains: Authoritative, researched historical dictionary entries.
The Routledge Companion to Dramaturgy
by
Reviews
Good for: Researching published news, legal, medical, patents, and business information.
Contains: News, legal, medical, and business information.
Good for: Finding current and recent news articles from major U.S. newspapers.
Contains: Articles from newspapers like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
Dates covered: 1980s-present.
Good for: Finding newspaper articles from around the world, including Nevada.
Contains: Newspaper articles from global news outlets, both print and web-only.
Good for: Finding regional news articles and broadcast television transcripts.
Contains: Regional newspapers and transcripts.
Theory and Criticism
Good for: Researching literature, literary criticism and theory, and finding interviews with authors and book reviews.
Contains: Poetry, drama, prose, literature criticism journals, e-books, and key reference resources.
Good for: Locating scholarly resources focused on literary interpretation or critical theory.
Contains: Citations to literary criticism in journal articles, book chapters, books, and more.
Dates covered: 1926-present.
Good for: Reading play scripts and scholarly books analyzing drama.
Contains: Scripts for over 1000 plays, from Aeschylus to the present day, including modern classics from Tom Stoppard, David Mamet, Caryl Churchill and many more.
Design
Good for: Researching design and crafts worldwide.
Contains: Images, encyclopedias, and e-books.
Dates covered: 1500 BCE-present.
Good for: Learning about design concepts for various performance types.
Contains: Books, periodicals, archival material, and instructional videos.
Primary Sources
Good for: Finding national periodicals, local community news and student publications from an Indigenous perspective.
Contains: Newspaper pages.
Dates covered: 1828-2016.
Good for: Finding primary source records of Native American and indigenous groups in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.
Contains: Manuscripts, artwork, and rare printed books.
Dates covered: 1400-1950s.
Good for: Exploring the lives and experiences of North American women.
Contains: Diaries, journals, and letters.
Dates covered: 1770-1950.
Production history
(these resources won't be up to date enough to include The Thanksgiving Play)
Good for: Studying the music, film, broadcasting, and theater industries.
Contains: Trade publications including Variety, Billboard, and The Hollywood Reporter.
Dates covered: 1880-2015.
Good for: Theatre history research.
Contains: Reference texts, posters, playbills, photos, architectural images, floor plans, and ephemera.
